Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Tasted good, but I didn't follow other reviewers advice and toss the cheese with flour - and I had a mealy-grit like consistency! (I'm sure it's the cooks fault, not the recipe!) I did sub half the milk for beer and used half sharp cheddar and half a blend of white cheeses (Italian blend maybe?) Will make again, b/c I love fondue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Easy to make and mild flavor. I used it for my little ones to eat with dippers. They loved it. And my husband played clean-up. Lacks the bite of fondue with alcohol in it, but it worked for my little crew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Like others advised, I used beer instead of milk and rubbed the fondue pot with a clove of garlic before adding the other ingredients. This is not the smoothest fondue but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, except added 1 cup milk and 1 cup beer. The cheese just clumped together, and never blended with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe can also go in the freezer. Just let thaw completley and then reheat. I also added 1 tsp of liquid smoke, 3 cloes of garlic and double the dry mustard. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
not what I had in mind... I was looking for a rich creamy flavorful fondue. I'll try another recipe next time. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Great the way it is, next time we make it we'll probably add spinch, and maybe something with a bit of a kick ( like hot peppers) We served this dish with fresh veggies, and had bbq meatballs as a side. Overall very good and basic mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbecks09

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
awesome and super easy! i reduced the cheese by one cup and added 3/4 cup dry white wine. it worked perfectly and the kids loved it; a new xmas eve tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was looking for a fondue recipe to try out my new fondue kit, and found a couple 5 star recipes but the cheeses were quite expensive. Then I found this one which is much less expensive and decided to try it. It met my expectations overall. I personally was not crazy about the flavor, which seemed really cheddary and not at all like swiss fondues that I have had. However, I got tons of complements from other guests at the party, who thought it was delicious and were excited to hear that the main ingredients were cheddar and beer. So, if you are looking for an authentic fondue recipe to impress your foodie friends, this is probably not the one - but if you are going to bring it to an ugly sweater party and eat it alongside stew and 3 buck chuck, you will be pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I can't imagine eating this with milk. I used the same amount of beer, which came out to about one and a half bottles of beer. I just used some cheap Michelob Ultra (leftover from our wedding lol), and it tasted perfect. Huge hit at work. Also, I didn't use a saucepan. I just did everything in the fondue pot. No need for that extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States