Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I followed the directions exactly, except added 1 cup milk and 1 cup beer. The cheese just clumped together, and never blended with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe can also go in the freezer. Just let thaw completley and then reheat. I also added 1 tsp of liquid smoke, 3 cloes of garlic and double the dry mustard. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
not what I had in mind... I was looking for a rich creamy flavorful fondue. I'll try another recipe next time. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Great the way it is, next time we make it we'll probably add spinch, and maybe something with a bit of a kick ( like hot peppers) We served this dish with fresh veggies, and had bbq meatballs as a side. Overall very good and basic mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbecks09

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
awesome and super easy! i reduced the cheese by one cup and added 3/4 cup dry white wine. it worked perfectly and the kids loved it; a new xmas eve tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I was looking for a fondue recipe to try out my new fondue kit, and found a couple 5 star recipes but the cheeses were quite expensive. Then I found this one which is much less expensive and decided to try it. It met my expectations overall. I personally was not crazy about the flavor, which seemed really cheddary and not at all like swiss fondues that I have had. However, I got tons of complements from other guests at the party, who thought it was delicious and were excited to hear that the main ingredients were cheddar and beer. So, if you are looking for an authentic fondue recipe to impress your foodie friends, this is probably not the one - but if you are going to bring it to an ugly sweater party and eat it alongside stew and 3 buck chuck, you will be pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I can't imagine eating this with milk. I used the same amount of beer, which came out to about one and a half bottles of beer. I just used some cheap Michelob Ultra (leftover from our wedding lol), and it tasted perfect. Huge hit at work. Also, I didn't use a saucepan. I just did everything in the fondue pot. No need for that extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very simple and very good! Used the milk only (no beer) and put in a bread bowl! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
So simple and so tasty. To make sure the flour didn't lump, I melted a small amount of butter before adding the other ingredients. Also added some buttermilk and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My only complaint with the recipe was that it didn't say why type of cheddar to use. I use sharp or extra sharp and it had a good flavor. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States