Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Excellent, simple & tasty. Can't find anything wrong other than I didn't make enough.This is worth 5 stars for the simplicity alone. The best bonus is that I always have these cheap ingredients on hand, unlike other recipes with loads of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Excellent, so easy to make our 9 year did it over Christmas! We make it without the mustard and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Never did fondue before, made it with half beer and half milk. Added the flour with the cheese and used sharp cheese. For a first timer.. I thought it was pretty good. I added a bit of cayanne sauce. It was all gone by the end of the night. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
If you want warm, watered down cheese this is the recipe. I made it as per instructions with the beer substitution. When I tasted it I gagged. It had NO flavor. I ended up adding cayenne pepper, Tony Checheres, and various other stuff to give it a flavor but it was still barely edible. This was HORRIBLE!! Thank god I didnt make it for a party-I would have been really embarassed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I left this with my husband to make... and he added white wine instead of beer (as previous reviewers had had success with). The flavor was very good - but it was really watery with a large lump of cheese at the bottom - I think it doesn't take too long to 'set' - and he left it cooking for a longer time than required... I'm pretty sure it had more to do with the cook than the recipe... I'll be in charge next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made a half recipe of this and it turned out fairly well. I have made fondue only once before and it came out stringy. After reading up on fondue, I found out that adding a little lemon juice can help it come together, riper cheese works better (so sharp over mild cheddar), flour should be added to the cheese and in the end a little corn starch can be added to help it come together. I did all of these and it did come together in the end. I also used half beer instead of only milk, and it gave it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Easy, tasty recipe. Made it for teens and they like it. I followed the recipe except I rubbed the fondue pot with the garlic, rather than put the garlic directly in the recipe. If you like a tangier sauce, add some tabasco sauce. I wasn't sure about the consistency. It looked a little odd, but it was easy to dip the bread cubes in and get them coated. I have had fondues that didn't want to stick to the bread. I was glad this one worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Since I have never had nor made cheese fondue I will have to give this a 4 instead of a 5. I made this in my new fondue pot that I received as a gift at my wedding and thought I'd break it out for a baby shower this past weekend. I followed the recipe with no problems. Substituted once cup of milk for a cup of beer. Also used mild cheddar. The fondue was a hit!!! Everyone loved it and some asked for the recipe! Many of the ladies were coming back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was a big hit, even with picky adult eaters! I followed some of the other advice and used 1 cup beer and 1 cup milk and mixed the flour with the cheese before adding it. the consistency was great! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This is the best recipe ever. Use beer and you've got the melting pot's Beer Cheedar Fondue!!! I love it and make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States