Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
We have fondue every Christmas Eve and I substituted this recipe for my usual cheese fondue and liked it much better. We'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This was delicious! I substituted beer for the milk, and it tasted just like the Melting Pot's cheddar fondue. One word of advice: This makes a lot of cheese, so try cutting it in half if you are only serving a small group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
While this tasted great (it was a hit at my party!), I found the texture too grainy. This was my first time making cheddar cheese fondue, so maybe it was my fault, but I liked it enough to try again sometime! This went great with rosemary potato bread, sourdough bread, and fresh veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Overall, this is pretty good. I did use beer instead and it was great. My husband loved it. I actually made it valentines day, I just noticed I hadn't rated it. I made it with the chocolate bar fondue. Good recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I guess I made too much... There's 2 of us and I made 32 servings figuring one serving was one dip of bread in the fondue pot. Well, I'm new to this fondu-ae thing, and didn't realize that you probably need at the very most 8 per person before you're more than really getting sick of it. Anyway, so I felt bad throwing it away, but after trying to persuade the cat, he wouldn't eat it either, so I threw the rest away. Overall though it is a good tasting recipe.. just don't be fooled about how much of it you think you can actually eat!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Yuck---I followed the recipe exactly and it just wasn't good at all. Sorry. Maybe I should have added beer and it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
LOVED the flavor of this simple recipe! Both the kids and the adults enjoyed the fondue. Made quite a bit - ran out of bread well before we ran out of the fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This was really good! I used half and half and added a little more garlic. I'm glad I finally found a fondue recipe w/o alcohol (I'm not 21 yet)! I will make this again, for sure. By The Way: We had left overs (there's only 2 of us) and they tasted just as great when we re-heated them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Excellent, simple & tasty. Can't find anything wrong other than I didn't make enough.This is worth 5 stars for the simplicity alone. The best bonus is that I always have these cheap ingredients on hand, unlike other recipes with loads of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Excellent, so easy to make our 9 year did it over Christmas! We make it without the mustard and it's just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States