Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I followed some of the reviews and used beer (a bottle and a half) in place of the milk. We also used a combo of cheddar, colby, jack, and mozzarella cheeses since that's what we had on hand. I think the cheeses we used made it a bit stringy but all in all it was pretty good for our first attempt at fondue. I plan to use this recipe again, following the recipe and using milk and cheddar...I will also half the recipe since it made way too much for our dinner party of four. This is a great recipe with on hand ingredients, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. We dipped chips, bread, pear, apples, ham, and carrots. It was a great new recipe. Thanks for the suggestion of the beer, I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, but a little bland. I'm going to try a combo of cheeses next time I make it. I think part of the problem was that I only used sharp cheddar, so it was kind of pungy. Overall, easy recipe, small list of ingred. and a fun new years eve activity. I would make it again, but just doctor the recipe up to my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Almost better than the Melting Pot. Great fondue. We dip apples, bread and cauliflower. We do this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This just didn't work out for us and the only reason I'm giving it 2 stars rather than 1 is because I'm concerned that maybe I didn't something wrong in preparing it. My cheese melted but it just didn't mix all the way with the rest of the sauce. I had to pour some liquid off to get it a decent consistency. I substituted 1/2 of the milk with beer. What was left was just somewhat bland. I did want a recipe that was somewhat simple because I wanted my 4 year old to eat it but she wasn't interested at all. We ate it but it wasn't something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
this recipe was really simple and i loved it. i chopped up rye, french, and pumpernickel bread; and some apples and veggies to go with. next time i'll substitute the milk for beer for a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This fondue went over terrifically at my martini party. I did substitute the milk for beer, and made 1.5 of the recipe. I kept the fondue in a chafing dish, which seemed to work just fine, and served with cubes of rye and sourdough bread, apples and vegies. Yum yum! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is not a fondue, it is a cheese sauce. And not a good cheese sauce either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This recipe was so easy and YUMMMY!!! We even heated it up the next day mmmmmm! We added 1 cup beer and 1 cup milk instead of the 2 cups milk, like recommended. We also didn't have dry mustard so I added regular mustard and it was so Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This dish was pretty good, but my husband and kids and I agreed, you just can't eat too much of it at one sitting. It's very salty, for one thing, and it just kind of gets old quick. Good thing I halved the recipe! (And I still had leftovers.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States