Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. We dipped chips, bread, pear, apples, ham, and carrots. It was a great new recipe. Thanks for the suggestion of the beer, I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe was pretty good, but a little bland. I'm going to try a combo of cheeses next time I make it. I think part of the problem was that I only used sharp cheddar, so it was kind of pungy. Overall, easy recipe, small list of ingred. and a fun new years eve activity. I would make it again, but just doctor the recipe up to my own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Almost better than the Melting Pot. Great fondue. We dip apples, bread and cauliflower. We do this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This just didn't work out for us and the only reason I'm giving it 2 stars rather than 1 is because I'm concerned that maybe I didn't something wrong in preparing it. My cheese melted but it just didn't mix all the way with the rest of the sauce. I had to pour some liquid off to get it a decent consistency. I substituted 1/2 of the milk with beer. What was left was just somewhat bland. I did want a recipe that was somewhat simple because I wanted my 4 year old to eat it but she wasn't interested at all. We ate it but it wasn't something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
this recipe was really simple and i loved it. i chopped up rye, french, and pumpernickel bread; and some apples and veggies to go with. next time i'll substitute the milk for beer for a stronger flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This fondue went over terrifically at my martini party. I did substitute the milk for beer, and made 1.5 of the recipe. I kept the fondue in a chafing dish, which seemed to work just fine, and served with cubes of rye and sourdough bread, apples and vegies. Yum yum! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is not a fondue, it is a cheese sauce. And not a good cheese sauce either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This recipe was so easy and YUMMMY!!! We even heated it up the next day mmmmmm! We added 1 cup beer and 1 cup milk instead of the 2 cups milk, like recommended. We also didn't have dry mustard so I added regular mustard and it was so Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This dish was pretty good, but my husband and kids and I agreed, you just can't eat too much of it at one sitting. It's very salty, for one thing, and it just kind of gets old quick. Good thing I halved the recipe! (And I still had leftovers.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Everyone in the family loved this. Change made was added 1/2 cup dry white wine and some paprika. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States