Basic Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Yum! tastes just like the melting pot's! i half the recipe so it will all fir in my fondue pot. i also substitute a cup of beer for the milk. I serve it with apples and panera sourdough bread. it is also good with broccoli and carrots. I also usually add 2 small cloves of garlic, but i love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Very basic cheddar fondue. Based on other reviews I substitued beer for milk (1 Becks beer, and 1/4 cup milk) and it had a GREAT beer/cheese flavor. It was kinda lumpy...but, my party had already started, and I was rushing, so it may have been my fault for the lumps! I also added a lot more cheese, it seemed to runny (once again, could have been something I did wrong) It wasn't MY favorite, but, it was voted #1 out of 3 of my fondues by several guests at my party. I think it would be really good to dip hot dogs or soft pretzles in too! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is the grossest fondue! I mistakingly made it for a recent dinner party with friends... we all tried it, then I threw it out and made something else. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Cheddar is notorious for being lumpy when melted, but this worked out really well for my family. I added extra garlic, even though I halved the recipe. I think I'll try fontina cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hemstreet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I was not impressed with this fondue. I wanted something basic but creamy. It came out grainy and not smooth. My husband told me to just toss the leftovers, a first for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I didn't think it tasted that great, It was bland, not very thick. I added many spices after the recipe and still didn't have much luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
We halved the recipe and used beer in place of the milk. Added a few extra cloves of garlic and tossed the cheese w/ the flour and then added it to the liquid ingredients. It was fantastic. I did remind me of the Melting Pot's cheddar fondue. I'm definately making it again. We served it w/ bread, green apple and cauliflower. I didn't rate it a 5 because with out substituting beer for the milk this would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
i did not like the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
We had this at a party with two other fondues. This one was the least popular, most people thought it was on the bland side. I thought the taste was pretty good, but the consistency was odd. It did not blend or thicken as nicely as the other fondues. Also, it did not coat the "dippers" very well, a little too thin. This fondue did get a little better the longer it was heated. It had to be stirred frequently or the ingredients would start seperating. I probally won't try try this again, because it required to much attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States