Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was extremely disappointed with the end result. This was my first attempt at a flaky pie crust, so there's a chance the fault lies with me. I used plain Crisco shortening, if that makes a difference. I had problems rolling it out, so I might have overworked the dough. The best result was obtained on the top, where I painted on an egg-white glaze. There the crust actually WAS flaky, tender, and flavorful. This is the first recipe on this site that has disappointed, but again my technique may be to blame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This dough was too crumbly. I did what another review suggested to add a little more water. It was still too crumby and very hard to roll. I think ill go back to my usual pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Good basic pie crust. Easy to make and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I have used this recipe for my pie for 6 years now. recently my father who bakes came to town and ate my pie and couldn't stop talking about how great this crust was. He made me give him the recipe and he has been making many pies with it. definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This makes a nice flaky pie crust, however you may need to increase the liquid just a smidgeon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
so easy yet soooo good! i followed some reviewers and used butter instead of shortening... i am amazed at how good it tastes... thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful pie crust. This was very easy to roll and came out great for my applesause custard pie. I did not even chill the dough. Thanks for the recipe Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The proportions here are a very good guide, the instructions are straightforward and easy to follow. I've made this twice for British Beef and Onion Pie, and my husband says the crust has a nice flavour and is pleasantly flaky, I follow everything else exactly and am more than satisfied with the results. If you care what your pie looks like (we eat with our eyes!), not included in the instructions is to brush the top (for double crust) with egg whites or milk to give it a nice, shiny browned top (you'd otherwise have a dry-looking, pale pastry - ask me how I know!). Thanks for this recipe, stephanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I am new at making pies and this recipe is super easy. I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I'm new to baking pies, and this was super easy. Took the advice of other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening -- no regrets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States