Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Came out great, I will definitely be using this again in the future. the only recipe for a pie crust I have made so far that came out exactly like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is definitely my go to pie crust recipe. It is easy and tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My first time ever making pie, I decided to use this recipe. Soooo happy I did!!!!! Not only was it absolutely easy to make and work with, it was nice and flaky and absolutely delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe.. Actually I think this is the same as one I got from my mom. I made an apple pie, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I've used this recipe many times and it creates an excellent pie crust. I substitute margarine for shortening or butter. I have refrigerated the dough over night and it rolls out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Mihalo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was my first time making the crust. I just couldn't roll this thing out. It kept breaking apart and I just didn't know what to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
GOOD LORD this was fantastic and a MONKEY could make it. I used butter instead of Crisco because YUM -- why not? It's better for you than Crisco & actually has a key ingredient that makes pies taste better: FLAVOR. Plus I never make pies since my Crisco crust recipe is wholly underwhelming. I mostly just buy a crust rather than waste my time. Now, unfortunately, I will be making this crust like it's going out of style & stuffing everything I can think of into it. My five year-old is sitting here with blueberries smeared all over her cheeks and she's LICKING THE PLATE CLEAN (just like mom taught her). Thanks to you, STEPHANIE, and your absurdly good crust -- I will be pinching far more than an inch when this summer is over. Wait ... there's pumpkin & apple pie in the fall ... and pecan ... pot pies in the winter.. HELP!!! Thanks as well to the reviewer who explained the best way to double this recipe ... and my dress size ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
flakes up nice and not greasy thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have tried several crust recipes in search of the perfect marriage of ease & taste. I love all butter crusts, but find them frustrating to work with. All shortening is easier, but lacks a little taste. I used this recipe and for the fat I did half butter/half lard. So far, I think this has been the best reviewed pie crust I've made. It had the added advantage of being the prettiest when baked. I made a chocolate chess pie and was afraid the bottom would be soggy, but even the first piece came out perfectly. I may have finally found my crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I had never made a pie crust because it seemed like way too much work, but this is beyond easy!! I used cold butter instead of shortening, but it was still absolutely perfect. My blueberry pie was so delicious no one guessed I was an amateur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States