Basic Flaky Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
First, I made it exactly as directed. It was really good as far as texture went, but the flavor left something to be desired. Definitely better suited to savory pies. I now either make it with butter, or a butter-shortening blend. Flavor and texture are fantastic. Forgive me if this tip has already been mentioned, I can't see the reviews on my phone: put your ice water in a spray bottle. The moisture will be perfectly dispersed, no concentrated spots where you would otherwise drizzle water, and no overworking the dough trying to get the drizzled water to make one cohesively moistened ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
So good and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This crust was wonderful. I used it to top a chicken pot pie and it worked perfectly. I used my Ninja food processor to whip this up in a snap, following the ingredients exactly. I only chilled for 20 minutes because I was impatient. I didn't even use flour or wax paper to roll this out, just my bare counter top and it was a dream to work with. Did not stick to the counter or the rolling pin. Love this recipe, can't wait to try it out with my fresh raspberries from my garden this Summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
My new favorite pie crust recipe. I mix up in food processor (an Alton Brown trick) added a little brown sugar and a dash of vinegar (makes for a light flaky crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This is so incredibly easy. I did the entire thing in my food processor. No mixing by hand. I used the dough to make a pot pie. I wasn't home when my family ate it, but my stepson sent me a text message that said "Really good flaky crust".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
If your dough is turning out flaky, as mine was, increase the amount of shortening. Good for sweet pies and meat pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayla68
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love this recipe! I use it on my chicken pot pies and sweet potato pies and more. I use butter instead of shortening. This will be the only recipe I will be using for my pie crust for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayla68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I've made it with chilled butter and chilled shortening. I much prefer the chilled butter. Excellent recipe...hard to mess it up :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORRIE123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I found this recipe in the Summer of 2011. My daughter and I baked one different pie each week that summer. This is THE ONLY recipe we use for all our pie baking. It comes out PERFECT everytime. I do not roll it out. For us, it's so much easier to just spread it out in the pie dish itself. Happy baking!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I finally found my "go-to" pie crust! It was exactly what I like in a crust, tender and not dry. Plus it was easy to roll out, which I often have trouble with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States