Basic Easy Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I've made wings like this for years on our propane grill. This recipe is for those who prefer a grilled taste instead of breaded fried wing. For those who say the sauce is too thin, here's a tip. Marinate the wings in the sauce over night or all day while at work. Then, put the wings on the grill. While the wings are grilling, boil down the sauce in a small sauce pan about 1/3 until it thickens. This also kills any contaminates from the raw chicken in the sauce and then brush the thickened sauce onto the grilled wings or put the wings in a bowl and pour the thickened sauce over them just before serving. I sometimes split the sauce if I'm making a lot and use some for marinating and some for thickening that way the raw chicken never touches the thickened sauce. It's just a suggestion. I use Red Devil sauce. I think it's the best. If you like it hotter add Tabasco to taste. You can also add Italian dressing for a spicy but not hot wing. Okay, Blah, blah, blah. I should have just posted my own recipe. duh. Maybe I will
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Loved it! Very simple, and wings came out nice and juicy with just the right amount of heat. The recipe makes more sauce than what is needed, so next time I'll probably half it. Other than that...I've found my hot wing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is my choice for sauce with the recipe, but I deep fried the chicken. I was also told that the drummettes were better than the wings, so I get a big bag of those. To fry first, I mixed 1 cup of flour and added some salt and pepper. I heated oil in a cast iron pan to 375 with a thermometer and, after coating in flour, deep fried each batch until golden brown about 15 minutes flipping once. Then, I made the sauce as is on the recipe and drizzled over the wings. It makes 2 fried batches. But, by the way the people eat these when I make them it makes more like 3 servings instead of 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
maybe my husband used too hot a sauce from the jar (Hummer) - took the top of our heads off! Had to cut with more butter and some ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
try using sriracha sauce, it's an asian hot sauce that has a thicker consistency and pepper flakes in it. tastes just like regular hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
So, I have never made wings before (hot wing, buffalo wings - whichever you'd call these) and I decided I would start with a basic recipe. Wow, these wings are kicking! My mouth was still on fire about five minutes after I finished eating them! (But it could be the brand of hot sauce I used too) When coating them I did throw the wings into the pan with the sauce and added a bit of cornstarch to thicken it so the sauce would stick more. Otherwise, followed to a T and will definitely make these again if I want some hot wings in a hurry! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My family liked these a lot. I didn't change any ingredients. I did bake them in the oven at 350 for 35 minutes because it was to windy to grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
very easy and very good. served these for the superbowl along with the maple chicken wings and they were gone in a flash! thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great recipe. We have also used a similar recipe for chicken made on the rotisserie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
my husband and i love it. very easy recipe yet delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grill Master Chicken Wings

Enjoy marinated and grilled chicken wings with a spicy soy sauce.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States