Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
me and my sister tried it they were so yummy i wish we made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashani
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made these for the first time. They were very easy to make. The batter was lumpy at first but I whisked it a lot to lose the lumps. All in all this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Used this the first time making crepes. A good basic recipe. I added vanilla and a little sugar. Making it in the blender was so easy. Next time I would double this since it only made 8 crepes...one per person wasn't a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tasted great! Except the batter was a tad bit too thick to spread really thin. Still, it was yummy, and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Easy, good for any filling, sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very easy to make. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsheide
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My girlfriend loves when I do these. I make a savory mushroom and spinach filling for the first few then do a simple cinnamon and sugar crepe for the dessert finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My teenaged granddaughter pulled this recipe and proceeded to make it Christmas Eve. She followed the instructions and the fun began. It became to glob of goo. She then tried the hand mixer and then the stand mixer. The goo went right up the blades. At that point, I saw what was happening and told her she had to add liquid and the goo immediately started behaving. The "fluids first" process works much better for the less skilled and it produces wonderful crepes. She enlisted the help of my teenage grandson. Both are pretty good cooks for their age. They had so much fun flipping the crepes. We stacked them in the crockpot (for lack of anything else handy) with parchment between each, put them in the fridge and Christmas morning was quick and easy - no waiting for the crepes to be flipped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is great. I picked it because of another review by a chef that instructed using butter instead of oil in the batter so that the crepes carmelize. Additionally this review mentioned that sifting(therby aerating the flour)'is a must and the pan should be hot. All tips right on the money. A big thank you to the person with these tips. While this is a great recipe, not specifying either weight or sifting for the flour used will make for very mixed results. A couple of my own tips: - I used a stainless steel pan, heated it up to medium hot(water sizzles but pan is not smoking). Getting the right pan is tricky. Use Pam for the first one and for further crepes only as necesary. - Use a pan you can actually pick up to roll while spreading the batter. Be prepared to roll the pan as you pour the batter. I found that pouring the batter towards the edge of the pan away from you is best and tilt the pan towards you when you pour - this makes the crepe thinner and more even. - Keep some water next to you when making the crepes. You may need to thin the batter to get to the crepes right. Add water a tablespoon at a time. Before you pour the batter into the pan, mix the batter each time - it will thicken at the bottom. Lastly, don't bother with the multi-step mixing process - just put all ingredients in a bowl and mix with a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States