Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Best pancakes I have made. So scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
First time I've made crepes from scratch. They came out great ! Next time, I will use my mixer to get the batter smoother. They came out fine though ! I made the chicken tarragon also here on allrecipes.com. I'll use these again for sure ! My other half wants me to do something with burger on them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
For more flavor (and browner color), I skipped the water and used a full cup of whole milk. I love how adaptable this recipe is: Add 1 tablespoon chopped herbs to make them more savory, or add 2 teaspoons sugar and a splash of vanilla or brandy to make them sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholio

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I just put everything together except the butter,added 1 teaspoon vanilla,whisked it all at once,then added the butter last. Cooked it in non stick pan with nothing on it and they came out beautifully! So easy. Made a filling with sugar,corn starch,water brought to a boil to thicken then threw in some frozen mixed berries cooking until it was nice and thick. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I used whole wheat flour. Not exact texture like bleached white, but still turned out nicely and healthy too. Also, I mixed all liquids first using my vitamix, then added dry ingredients. No lumps. Not sure why instructions say to mix eggs and flour first. I used my electric flat griddle on 200 degrees and did not have to use oil. Make sure you spread the batter super duper thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dodsonje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Pretty spot on. Nice, eggy, filling crepes! We ended up adding a little more liquid to thin them so they would spread better. A bigger skillet really helps create a nicer, thinner crepe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sbisio
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was easy to make and really good. It was a hit. We filled them with fresh cut strawberries and topped it with blueberry syrup made by my son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I agree with the comment above that for even decent results you have to whisk the eggs and milk together first, then add the flour. Also every recipe should include the fact that the best results don't happen by adding an exact measured amount of flour. it's best to add the flour a bit at a time until it coats the whisk more on the thin side for very thin "crepes" and a thicker coating for more substantial ones. PLUS, the most important omission is that it possibly originated in Czechoslovakia as Palacinky and is a mainstay of Viennese cuisine as Palatschenke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Hammack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Super easy and versatile! You can make a batch of the batter in about 5 minutes and fill it with whatever you have in your kitchen. I've done savory crepes using leftover deli meat and cheese, or fill them with jam or nutella for something sweet. Really great and quick. I followed the advice of other reviews and mixed the wet ingredients before adding the flour. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Gibbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by a2zpets
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I am sort of new to cooking. And i bought a crepe pan. This is the first thing i tried. I put on some Nutella and boy were my kids happy. I also did the seond time addinf sifted flour to the liquids to get rid of the clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States