Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I just tried this recipe and it was quite delicious. I did increase the salt just a little bit, added some sugar, a bit of orange zest and a splash of vanilla. Very easy with great results. Just like many others on here, I would mix the wet and dry ingredients separately, adding the dry gradually to the wet so you don't get lumps and use a wire whisk. Will definitely make again. Also, I made these as a sweet breakfast entrée. For savory crepes, leave out the sweeteners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I just finished making these for my husband for a yummy Sunday morning breakfast that was easy and used ingredients we already had at home. They turned out delicious! We wanted sweet crepes, so I added sugar, vanilla extract and grated lemon and they were perfect!!! I definitely mixed all the wet ingredients together first and sifted in the dry ones instead of what the directions here state (mix the eggs into the flour). My brain automatically imagined a lumpy nightmare trying to do that! So I can't comment on those specific directions but I do know that my way worked and the batter was smooth and the crepes tasted heavenly!! I wish I had room to eat more! Excellent recipe, will make again definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Easy to follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious! I just put everything in the food processor! No whisking! Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is a bad recipe. My crepes came out lumpy and the consistency was too thick for 8 crepes, I only made 4 relatively small crepes. I should have known when the first step was to mix 2 eggs with 1 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marko Bajic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I am thinking of ways to be creative with the basic crepe. One thought is with a concoction of shrimp, cream cheese (maybe not cream cheese, but something with a good melt...Havarti? Brie?), chives, Worcestershire sauce, dash of hot sauce. Maybe drizzle a hollandaise on the plate? I will absolutely HAVE to make a bunch so I can freeze some and try a couple different ideas. Of course, old fashioned fresh sliced fruit and whipped cream kind is my favorite. Just thought of another idea. Roll them up and dip one end in a caramel sauce (that will hard set, roll the end in brown sugar (before it sets)and serve with ice cream. By the way, liked the idea someone had to add vanilla extract. Could try with orange too, nice and bright taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Awesome!! Best Crepe ever! Once you make these, you will NEVER go back to instant crepe mix. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbs of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These are amazing. I did as suggested by others and just added the dry to the wet. I also added a touch of honey and vanilla. I had mine with coconut oil and strawberries and wow! Just divine! Also had with lemon juice and granulated sugar like I used to have when I was a kid. mmmmmmmmmm. I want to try these with asparagus and a bit of hollandaise sauce next. yum. So many possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana Knoles
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe. I missplaced my go-to low calorie one, so used this one in the meantime. I do make some changes to the recipe to make the crepes more flavorful: add 1 tsp granulated cane sugar 1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon 1 tsp vanilla extract I also take the tip from other reviewers and mix the wet ingredients first, then add the dry ingredients. Otherwise you end with a doughy, hard to mix mess. These are wonderful, today will be my third time using the recipe. :) Filling: My go-to filling is nutella, banana slices, and strawberry slices with a small drizzle of cocoa powder, with a spritz of low-fat whipped cream topping: delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana Knoles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Delicious! I followed Morleys advice and mixed all my wet, then sifted in the flour. They didnt need a whole 2 minutes to cook, and I finished a stack of them very quickly! I had enough for leftovers and will be making breakfast crepes with what I had left. Very delivious and simple recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Wheeler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States