Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is a really nice recipe and one that you can literally decide to prepare on a whim. I like to add a little sugar (vanilla sugar is even better - store sugar and a vanilla pod together in a jar until you're happy with the taste & aroma) to the batter for sweet crepes. My favorite way to eat them goes back to "Pancake Day" growing up in England - lemon juice and brown sugar and then rolled up - delicious! I still eat them like this, although a little Nutella is also yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Tried making crepes for the first time last night and used this recipe. I took the advice from another comment and mixed wet and dry ingredients separate and sifted in the dry. Worked lovely! My only complaint is I found the batter too thick. I added in at least another 1/2 cup of milk, (should have measured but didn't), and it was much better! Nice and thin! I realized the pan does have to be good and hot for the crepe to really turn out the best :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Loved it! First time ever that my crepes came out good and in one piece. But do you realize that the accompanying video does not follow the printed directions? I too added the flour to the wet ingredients after whisking them. I made a cheese filling and had blintzes with blueberries and sour cream. Yum Yum. thank you for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Dwyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Awesome recipe, turned out great. added nutella, strawberries and banana yummoh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is my first time at crepes, and it turned out surprisingly well. I did follow Morely's instructions about mixing all wets first (eggs, milk, water, butter) and then salt and 1/4 tsp vanilla before I sifted in the flour at the end and whisked it thoroughly. I used a lightly oiled cast iron pan over just above medium heat (gas stove) and used 1/4 cup measurements of batter and spread it out by rotating my pan and it worked out awesome. I cooked 2 minutes on one side and made sure it was loose from the pan by giving the pan a shake, flipped it and put a little fruit on top in the middle in a line, flipped the sides up and removed it from the pan. I then tossed a spoon of plain yogurt on and sprinkled with a little icing sugar. This is a stellar recipe :) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Great recipe. DO NOT mix the eggs with the flour first. Mix the all the wet ingredients together, then add the flour slowly, whisking continuously until all ingredients are thoroughly combined and there are no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Very very good. Also works with water if you don't have milk. Put melted chocolate.... mmmm! So good! And I find that not using the spatula works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
amazing ! specially the quantities are perfect , and the video very helpful :) thank you very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I used Himalayan salt and coconut oil instead of butter, they came out beautifully although I didn't care for the salty taste, I lean more towards sweet for breakfast. I added some sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, nutmeg, and vanilla extract. I'm probably going to keep experimenting, good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Schiano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Easy and delicious! The batter was a bit too thick for our liking so added a bit of water to make a thinner crepe. Like the others, mixed the wet ingredients together and then added the flour. Not sure why this recipe would have you add the eggs to the flour first when that is not the norm. Keep the pan hot or the crepes get a little rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States