Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe I tried it with a chopped Apple infused with a pumpkin spice tea bag and some vanilla cinnamon and it turned out great it was amazing and I put a little fresh creme on top of my crepe and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Amazing, easy recipe! Mixed wet ingredients first, and then added flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Followed some of the suggestions and beat the eggs in with the milk and water instead, then sifted the flour in gradually as I whisked it. I then added the salt and melted butter and whisked it until it was a really lovely smooth batter. The first one was a bit thick, but after I got the hang of adding the batter to the pan and tilting it quickly, it flowed around to make a lovely, thin crepe. They don't take long to cook, mine were a lovely golden brown at a minute each side. I served them by spreading some Nutella onto it, arranging some sliced strawberries and folding it up burrito style. It was every bit as good as the wonderful crepe cafe near our house. One could probably add sifted confectioner's sugar or whipped cream as well, but I loved them just the way they were. We are going to try doing a savoury version next and attempt replicating the cafe's "Philly Cheesesteak" version with thinly sliced roast beef, slivered red pepper, thinly sliced red onion, spinach, and grated cheese. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliCat5683

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Loved these they were so delicious! I added a little bit of vanilla to the mix. Might try cinnamon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have not yet tried this recipe, but since I live in France, I have more than enough experience with making crepes! The way it is always mixed together here is to mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl, make a well in the center, then break open the eggs into the well. Slowly pour the liquids in while gently whisking the eggs around - this mixes in the flour gradually and avoids most lumps. Then add the melted butter. THEN, the batter sits for about an hour. This allows the rest of the lumps to reabsorb. We often add a bit of rum or lemon juice/zest, also, for flavoring. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gayle
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Have used this several times now (as it is posted)and it's a great base recipe. I use for cottage cheese rolls mostly, but would not hesitate for use as fruit crepe also. I have used blender to do final blending to be sure to get all the lumps out, but mixer would be fine also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Super recipe! I followed the recommendation of sifting the flour into the rest of the ingredients, and it worked perfectly. They're tasty even without adding vanilla extract, but I added some halfway through and it definitely gave our breakfast crepes that extra pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Have made these several times and they are delicious! I halve the recipe to make just 3-4 crepes for me for breakfast. I don't bother with what order to put the ingredients in - I just dump everything into my 2 cup glass measuring cup and whisk. Never had any lump issues. I tend to add a little vanilla and sometimes a little white sugar since I love them sweet. My favorite filling is ricotta cheese mixed with brown sugar, top with a little butter and drizle with pure maple syrup. I made bananas foster (chop a banana and dump into a pan with some butter and brown sugar - heat to bubbling - add a little rum if you want) to top them with one day too and they were heavenly! Make sure your pan is hot enough and you swirl the batter around it in right after you pour it in to make it thin. Wait until the edges of the crepe turn brown and they are perfect every time. Nice and thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Anne Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
easy good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aviv Daniel Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a really amazing crepes recipe. I got addicted to crepes while on vacation in DC and these are better! I'm not a great cook and I couldn't believe how great they turned out. I followed the directions with one exception, I added the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients like the most helpful reviewer suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Stowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States