Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Simple but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Added two teaspoons sugar Boys loved it So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCYNICOLE
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Okay so I followed the directions exactly and was really excited as I never made crepes before. The first two crepes didn't look so hot but after i got the spreading technique down they really started to look like restaurant style crepes! I was happy that I learned to make this kind of fancy dish and it was remarkably easy. Then I tasted one of the crepes...BLECH!! I'm sorry but don't you have to put sugar, vanilla or something? I actually added in a little vanilla and cinnamon at the beginning, even though the recipe did call for it, it still tasted so bland. I added more vanilla, more cinnamon and some almond extract and sugar, okay it was getting better but still didn't taste like the crepes I get in the restaurants. I ended up throwing what was left of the crepe batter into what was left of the pancake batter I had stored which already had cinnamon, almond extract and vanilla extract. Now we're talking! They tasted great and my son loved them with some apple pie filling and whipped cream, but as the original recipe stood, I don't get how it got so many high reviews. The taste was flavorless without even a bit of sweetness in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The batter was very thick and lumpy. I had to use an electric mixer and added some more milk in order for the mixture to be thin enough to make crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great recipe! All it needs is about 1/4 cup sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. With those ingredients I would give it 5 stars! I cooked mine on my Griddle at 300F, I stored them in my pre warmed oven until the whole batch was finished. Absolutely delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SammiHelene
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very Nice! I also added orange zest to the batter and to garnish :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiHelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe, it was quick and easy. However I made two changes: The order I mixed the ingredients and I added an ingredient. 1)I mixed the milk and water together. 2)Then poured it into a bowl with the cup of flour and whisked vigorously. This prevents clumping, then I added the other ingredients. Second I added a teaspoon of vanilla just to make them smell and taste a little nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Tried making crepes for the first time today with this recipe and it is just fantastic! I will be using this recipe forever along with some of the many tips from others like to add sugar for the sweet version. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it is already saved in my recipe box! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aevans
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Wonderful taste and very simple! Keep an eye on them though, mine took less than 2 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great classic recipe. Adding flour to the wet ingredients, as suggested in the comments, gave me more trouble with lumps than following the recipe as it is. I suggest sticking with the original and taking the time to get rid if any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States