Basic Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Loved these they were so delicious! I added a little bit of vanilla to the mix. Might try cinnamon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have not yet tried this recipe, but since I live in France, I have more than enough experience with making crepes! The way it is always mixed together here is to mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl, make a well in the center, then break open the eggs into the well. Slowly pour the liquids in while gently whisking the eggs around - this mixes in the flour gradually and avoids most lumps. Then add the melted butter. THEN, the batter sits for about an hour. This allows the rest of the lumps to reabsorb. We often add a bit of rum or lemon juice/zest, also, for flavoring. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gayle
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Have used this several times now (as it is posted)and it's a great base recipe. I use for cottage cheese rolls mostly, but would not hesitate for use as fruit crepe also. I have used blender to do final blending to be sure to get all the lumps out, but mixer would be fine also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Super recipe! I followed the recommendation of sifting the flour into the rest of the ingredients, and it worked perfectly. They're tasty even without adding vanilla extract, but I added some halfway through and it definitely gave our breakfast crepes that extra pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Have made these several times and they are delicious! I halve the recipe to make just 3-4 crepes for me for breakfast. I don't bother with what order to put the ingredients in - I just dump everything into my 2 cup glass measuring cup and whisk. Never had any lump issues. I tend to add a little vanilla and sometimes a little white sugar since I love them sweet. My favorite filling is ricotta cheese mixed with brown sugar, top with a little butter and drizle with pure maple syrup. I made bananas foster (chop a banana and dump into a pan with some butter and brown sugar - heat to bubbling - add a little rum if you want) to top them with one day too and they were heavenly! Make sure your pan is hot enough and you swirl the batter around it in right after you pour it in to make it thin. Wait until the edges of the crepe turn brown and they are perfect every time. Nice and thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Anne Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
easy good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aviv Daniel Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a really amazing crepes recipe. I got addicted to crepes while on vacation in DC and these are better! I'm not a great cook and I couldn't believe how great they turned out. I followed the directions with one exception, I added the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients like the most helpful reviewer suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Stowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is awesome! It goes really well with bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Melville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I love this recipe! I doubled it and added 1 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup granulated sugar. I followed Adam M.'s suggestion to mix all the dry ingredients, then whisk in the eggs, followed by the butter, milk, and water, in that order, just a little at a time. They turned out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,703) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States