Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a tried and true, classic cream cheese frosting, especially good on carrot and banana cakes. I've made this so many times I haven't needed to look at the actual recipe for years! I've always used 3-1/2 to 4 c. of powdered sugar, but you can certainly use less, down to as little as 2 c., if you like a less-sweet, thicker, firmer, more cream cheesey frosting. Add a little cocoa powder or melted chocolate, to taste, for Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Great frosting! I only used 2 cups of powdered sugar and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Good basic cream cheese frosting. It is sweet, as other reviewers have noted, but isn't that the point? I made it exactly as reciped and it was the right consistency and flavor. It does make plenty for a three-tier cake. I made a basic white cake with strawberry preserves between each layer frosted with this frosting for my husband for Father's Day. I served fresh maserated berries on the side. Excellent! A definate keeper frosting recipe when you want something rich, sweet and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I decorate wedding cakes and this is the most delicious (not to mention easiest) recipe I've come across. Great on cinnamon rolls, mocha, spice, and carrot cakes! I thought the consistency was perfect but I you feel you need to thin it add about a tablespoon of light karo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This frosting is so yummy! I recommend starting with 3 cups of sugar and adding more to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is fantastic! I have been searching for a cream cheese frosting that is not too sweet and this is it! It is the perfect proportion of cream cheese, butter, and sugar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Well...I might as well glue this stuff to my butt because that's where it's going after I eat it all. This was a delicious frosting. I did alter it a bit to suit my taste. I used about 4-1/2 cups of powdered sugar, added a splash of almond extract and about an 1/8 of a cup of cream of coconut. I also added about a cup of chopped nuts for more of a tropical flavor. I spread this on top of a Mexican Wedding Cake while it was still warm (my mema's recipe) and wow...soooo good. Thanks JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very yummy, basic frosting. I used half the sugar called for, and coconut rum in place of vanilla. I spread it on carrot cake and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I LOVE this recipe! I added 2 tsp of vanilla and got a more vanilla flavor and it came out more like a glaze. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this is a great recipe. I did notice when looking at carrot cake recipe's they mention using 'cream cheese frosting II', however there are 2 of those! I like this one. I, like some other review varied the powerded sugar. Since I wanted my frosting "stiff" I used more sugar, which was great. For those who want to frost the entire cake, (I am a former professional cake decorator) here at some hints for ALL cakes. Freeze the cake. Use the frosting between layer and cover the entire care with a thin coat of frosting. (This way the crumbs are only in the coat and it acts as a seal on the cake. Once again freeze or refrigerate, and then put on the final layer of frosting. This way you won't pull the crumbs into the frosting and it looks fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States