Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is how my mom taught me to make cream cheese frosting and we love t!!! For cakes like red velvet and apple spice cakes I like to use vanilla butter nut flavoring instead of plain vanilla. It will change the color a bit but what it does for the flavor is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My family and I loved it. My husband said I out did myself this time, lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used appr. 3 cups of sugar and I also added appr. 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Anything sweet should have a tiny bit of salt added - it doesn't make it salty, but brings out the sweetness. I heated the frosting up to make a glaze for my coconut pound bundt cake. Delicious! Not too sweet and not too cheesy/tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Oh my God, that is SO good. This is a definite keeper. I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a splash of milk. Perfect icing. Yum, yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Didn't need quite 4 cups of sugar but hubby thought it was beater lickin' good. Fabulous on Strawberry Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good basic cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Goes fabulous with Sam's carrot cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this frosting for carrot cake and it was perfect . Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Excellent. I used about 3.5 cups of confectioners sugar, but four probably would have been fine. You definitely need more than two cups (as some others have used) to get it to a true frosting-like consistency. I think any less than 3.5 would have created a cheesy glaze, vs. cream cheese icing. I put this on homemade carrot cake and it was awesome!! Very easy to dye and decorate with, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Delicious! I only used 3 cups of sugar as this was the finishing touch on my mini-cheesecakes, which is pretty sweet already. Came out amazing and texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 688) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States