Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wonderful, basic cream cheese frosting, just as the name implies! You can't go wrong with this one! Used it on Sam's Famous Carrot Cake also from this site. I did have to add a bit of milk as I felt the frosting was a bit too thick for my liking. The milk gave it a smoother appearance and a better spreading ability. Definitely NOT low calorie...but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I did not love this frosting.I had to add another 8oz. of cream cheese for it to taste like cream cheese frosting. Other wise it tasted like powdered sugar frosting.Next time I would start with 3 cups powdered sugar and go from there. Very sweet with 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Very good icing! Made exactly as the recipe instructed. I don't feel it is too sweet. I used it on a red velvet cake and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I agree, easy to make and I also used less powder sugar. I also used strawberry cream cheese spread and whipped regular cream cheese with the butter. It gave a pretty pink color and a hint of strawberry taste which was great on the devil food chocolate cupcakes. Just a dollop on top was plenty since I'm not a huge fan of a alot of icing. I will also make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I used this on my chocolate chip zucchini muffins! Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We really like this recipe exactly as written. It's easy to spread, but it firms up nicely in the refrigerator without being "crunchy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I like this frosting a lot and followed the exact recipe as stated above and would give that 4 out of 5 stars. In my humble opinion it is too sweet but still good. The next time I made it I doubled the cream cheese and left everything else as it was and it came out with more of a cream cheese flavor and not as sweet. I would give the last batch a 5 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower20851

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This recipe produces a very delicious, creamy and light frosting. I give it four stars only because I prefer my cream cheese frosting to taste more like cream cheese. But it is very good and is perfect for someone looking for more of a subtle cream cheese flavor. Thank you very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingCandy
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I used the Vanilla Cupcake Recipe then I used this frosting recipe and added some neon pink food coloring!!!!!!! This is a fun way to make cupcakes more summer colored and it would also be good for birthdays!!!!!!! This recipe is super simple and my baby sister helped with it!!!!!!! ?? This recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
A great recipe for almost any cake (or cupcake) recipe!!! Perfect for red velvet or spice cake! I also add chocolate syrup and lessen the sugar to top devil's food or chocolate cake. Great recipe for any baker! PS Presentation is A LOT BETTER if you use Ziplock bag to pipe- then again this applies to all frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Smiling Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States