Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe!...my husbands favorite now, it is pretty sweet so I cut back on the sugar some, Yummy :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This frosting is delicious! I made it to take a carrot cake and it was so yummy. Very easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I took the advice of a few reviews and tweaked the ratios a bit. First of all I backed off on the vanilla by half, because I wanted more cream cheese taste. Vanilla also tends to moisten the frosting a bit too much. I also backed off on the butter (used 7 instead of 8 tablespoons) again because of the taste and extra moisture. Then I added the powdered sugar a quarter cup at a time until I got the consistency I wanted. For me I only needed 3 cups of powdered sugar to get a creamy, pale yellow frosting which was just about toothpaste consistency. After icing my pumpkin cookies, I let them "dry" for about 1/2 hour out on the counter before covering with plastic wrap. The icing didn't harden completely, but it didn't stick to the plastic wrap either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Followed recipe with one change used only 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar...in my opinion perfect for a not too sweet taste. Added a teaspoon of sifted ground ginger...Yum! Went well with the Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes in lieu of the crystallized ginger called for in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Poocha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I just made this recipe with a few changes. I omitted the butter, added 2T whole milk and ended up needing an additional 1c powdered sugar. It's a very good recipe and not too sweet, even with my extra powdered sugar. However, it wasn't enough to frost my 10" 3 layer cake so guess I'm off to make more frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I added about an extra cup or so of powdered sugar, it's definitely not your typical sweet cream cheese frosting- its very cheesy! But still good and would be very well suited to a very sweet dessert to sort of tone down the sweetness. I put this on pumpkin cookies and it's yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as recommended and it's delicious! This will be my staple cream cheese recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' storm 97
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My new go to frosting recipe I use for EVERYTHING!!! It's sooooooo easy to make and tastes better than any store-bought. I do make some modifications however: I start with 2 cups confectioners sugar and add as needed, and I double the vanilla. (I recommend using an organic vanilla that is alcohol free, because it enhances the flavor and gives it just the right touch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This is the perfect cream cheese frosting recipe. I have tried many and this is the best. It is the right balance of cream cheese and sugar taste. The consistency is smooth and would work for fillings, bars cupcakes, cakes. It is very easy to make as well Thanks for sharing. This is my new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. Love it so much I eagerly ate the frosting alone. Yum! I This was easy to make. Just be ready to beat the sugar. It is best to slowly add the sugar. I measured it in 1/2 cups which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States