Basic Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this is a great recipe. I did notice when looking at carrot cake recipe's they mention using 'cream cheese frosting II', however there are 2 of those! I like this one. I, like some other review varied the powerded sugar. Since I wanted my frosting "stiff" I used more sugar, which was great. For those who want to frost the entire cake, (I am a former professional cake decorator) here at some hints for ALL cakes. Freeze the cake. Use the frosting between layer and cover the entire care with a thin coat of frosting. (This way the crumbs are only in the coat and it acts as a seal on the cake. Once again freeze or refrigerate, and then put on the final layer of frosting. This way you won't pull the crumbs into the frosting and it looks fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
PERFECT on the Pumkin Cake III! Been making this for a few years and it comes out wonderful every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good recipe, could probably cut the sugar to 3 for a less sweet taste but still an excellent frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAIA1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Rich tasting and good on pumpkin bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I'm giving this 5 *'s for taste, it IS really yummy. I had a problem with the consistency but I think it's a machine malfunction...it's definitely time for a new mixer. I was only able to add 2 cups of confectioners' sugar because it was so thick it climbed all the way up my beaters. I had to use milk to thin it so the frosting would stay in the bowl lol! Other than that, mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Simple. Sweet. Perfect for my Banana Cake. Kids loved licking the bowl and beaters. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for tonight - not too sweet, rich, buttery consistency and great flavor. I think I ended up using about 3 cups of sugar - it's just right for my giant cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Easy to make and it is very tasty. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
YUM! I would give this more stars if possible! I could seriously eat this stuff by the spoonful. Not exactly health food, but SO DELICIOUS! I used 3 cups powdered sugar instead of 4. The perfect frosting for the yummy Pumpkin Cake III recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
made this as is and it was a perfect balance of cream of cheese and powdered sugar. i did have to chill it a bit before piping, as others have stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarshaMarshaMarsha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States