Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
I have also been tweaking this recipe some by adding an extra quarter cup of cornmeal and substituting buttermilk for regular milk - it gives it a cakier appearance and moistens it a little. I can't leave well enough alone. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
I was looking for a quick, minimal mess recipe to whip up for breakfast on Father's Day. This recipe just messed up one bowl, baked off beautifully (I made them mini muffins) and were a big hit for our cowboy theme Father's Day for Dad. The kids loved them and they were moist and sweet. They popped right out of the muffin pan without any resistance. I will keep this recipe handy for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
WhooEEEE, are these good! I don't eat corn bread or corn muffins often (like maybe twice in my life) but given THESE corn bread muffins I may just be enjoying them more often! I made just half the recipe, but still used 1 whole egg, and reduced the sugar by 2 teaspoons. In a full recipe, this would mean using 2 eggs rather than one, and reducing the sugar by a good tablespoon. To this half recipe I added about 1/2 cup of a 4-cheese Mexican Cheese Blend and a chopped, small jalapeno pepper. I used a stone ground corn meal, which added great texture, and the extra egg made these deliciously moist. The cheese and jalapeno provided exceptional flavor and added color and interest. So simple to throw together I don't know why anyone would use a boxed mix (especially since I've heard reports of bugs coming along in the box for the ride!) Great recipe Doug! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my! These corn muffins are fabulous and while the title implies "basic" or simple, I have to say they're simply delicious and a great base for whatever whatever add-in suites your tastebuds. Being that this was my first time making these I went the pure route. I did however use 1 1/4 cup of cornmeal and 3/4 cup of flour, veg. oil (no canola on hand) and subbed buttermilk for the regualr milk. The result was nothing less than a wonderful, moist muffin that melts in your mouth. These would be great as a side to BBQ pork, chili, soups, and stews. The leftovers were equally good with butter and jelly in the morning with a cup of tea. Thanks Doug for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe exact only cooking it in my cast iron skillet. I did add a couple tablespoons of butter to the skillet and melted it in the hot oven before pouring the batter in. This came out a little dry. Next time, I might add a couple tablespoons of honey and a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Very good recipe! I made these while talking over the counter, the recipe is easy! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV_2_B_MUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Delicious!! Not dry at all and not too sweet (as I was afraid it might be). This will be the recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
Wonderful! Moist and just the right amount of 'sweet'. Just as good the next day as hot out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These came out very dry and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Although the recipe was easy to follow, I was disappointed with the results. The muffins did not rise well, and were not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States