Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra egg, corn, chopped jalapeno's and Mexican blend shredded cheese (about a heaping 1/2 cup. I also used white cornmeal but I'm sure they would be just as tasty with yellow. Next time I want to try buttermilk instead of milk. I have also used Martha White Buttermilk cornmeal mix in the past and it turned out really good just don't add the baking powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out well. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have used the recipe for years. You can use a bit more milk to thin it out and cook like a pancake in the sauté pan (non stick or seasoned iron skillet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just brought a lot of peppers back from a trip to Dallas, and one of the things I made for Christmas gifts this year was jalapeño jelly which I planned to gift with corn muffins. The muffins cooked for 15 minutes, and were not quite as moist as I would have liked, I think a result of overcooking. Moving forward, I would check them at 12 minutes, could be my oven running hotter than most. I added chopped red and green jalapeños to the batter which brought a bit of a Holiday theme and color to the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now. Both times I used buttermilk instead of milk and used 1 1/4 c cornmeal to 3/4 c flour, 2 eggs instead of one, and omitted the salt. The first time I took the muffins out 5 minutes early but they were still very dry and tasted slightly oily. I liked the flavor though--not too sweet--so I tried again. The second time I used 6 Tbsp butter in place of the oil and cut it in instead of melting it. I also baked the muffins at 375 instead of 400. That resulted in a much moister muffin without the oily taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have to bring muffins to my son's thanksgiving party at school this week and decided to give this recipe a try . I followed the instructions very closely. Muffins came out dry and tasteless. Horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
A good basic recipe that can be added to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Newton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made them in mini-muffin pans and they took just as long to bake as in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I had no eggs on hand! But I had already started this recipe thinking I had some. People in my house like eggs. So, to add moisture I used half and half and added about 3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese. Oh, also I used coconut oil instead of canola because canola is GMO. It turns out, you can do without eggs. Recipe was good without it! I also used my cast iron skillet, which was just fine. It wasn't a fluffy type of corn muffin, but the taste was really good. Everyone liked it. Next time I will add corn that I ran thru the blender for a few seconds to add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States