Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I followed all the steps but added some taco cheese and chopped up some pickled jalapenos to put in these and they were very yummy. I did a couple with just cheese for the kids and they loved those as well. Thanks for a great corn muffin recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is a very good basic recipe. I was out of Jiffy and wanted to make some mexican cornbread and that is what I usually use but not anymore :) Now since I was adding cheese, jalapenos and corn so I changed some things up a bit. I added an extra egg, vegetable oil instead of canola, 2 cups cheddar cheese, one can diced jalapeno peppers (next time I will use whole pickled ones). Most recipies for mexican cornbread call for creamed corn but I just dont like it so I added 3 big spoonfulls of sour cream to make up for the creamed part. I served this with some spicy pinto beans and it was delicious. If I wasnt adding the cheese and stuff I would have only used one egg. These were really easy to make and with ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The first time I've tried this recipe in the Czech Rep. with ingrediences available on our market and I must say "it is awesome"! The prep is easy, muffins looked like muffins and tasted great, thank you :-))!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were sooo good!!! Yum. I will certainly make them again and again. The only thing I changed was that I used olive oil and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYFRANKLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe turned out very well. My muffins looked exactly like those in the photo. Moist, light and flavourful. I added sweet corn niblets cut right off the steaming cob and reduced the white sugar by about half. One comment: the cornmeal available at my grocery store is "whole grain, medium grind" and as a result, there was a bit of a crunch to the muffins. I might look for fine grind before I make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Good but could have used a more cornmeal taste. Also less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uraniabce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Thanks for this recipe. It is great. I did make a few minor changes. Used a little less sugar ( I don't like my muffins quite so sweet), 1/2 tbsp baking powder & 1/4 cup of olive oil for baking. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
These corn muffins were a bit too dry for our tastes, I see that some reviewers added an extra egg and that might be just what it needs. I would go with a bit more salt as well. This recipe gave me 12 very pretty muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I've already used this recipe for cornbread several times and it always turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These were simple and tasty. Not too sweet, and not to dense. Could have possibly added a bit more cornmeal to enhance corn flavor, but overall I was very happy with these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Corn Dog Muffins

Here is a muffin that's got all of the ingredients and flavors of a corn dog!

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States