Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra egg, corn, chopped jalapeno's and Mexican blend shredded cheese (about a heaping 1/2 cup. I also used white cornmeal but I'm sure they would be just as tasty with yellow. Next time I want to try buttermilk instead of milk. I have also used Martha White Buttermilk cornmeal mix in the past and it turned out really good just don't add the baking powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out well. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have used the recipe for years. You can use a bit more milk to thin it out and cook like a pancake in the sauté pan (non stick or seasoned iron skillet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just brought a lot of peppers back from a trip to Dallas, and one of the things I made for Christmas gifts this year was jalapeño jelly which I planned to gift with corn muffins. The muffins cooked for 15 minutes, and were not quite as moist as I would have liked, I think a result of overcooking. Moving forward, I would check them at 12 minutes, could be my oven running hotter than most. I added chopped red and green jalapeños to the batter which brought a bit of a Holiday theme and color to the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now. Both times I used buttermilk instead of milk and used 1 1/4 c cornmeal to 3/4 c flour, 2 eggs instead of one, and omitted the salt. The first time I took the muffins out 5 minutes early but they were still very dry and tasted slightly oily. I liked the flavor though--not too sweet--so I tried again. The second time I used 6 Tbsp butter in place of the oil and cut it in instead of melting it. I also baked the muffins at 375 instead of 400. That resulted in a much moister muffin without the oily taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have to bring muffins to my son's thanksgiving party at school this week and decided to give this recipe a try . I followed the instructions very closely. Muffins came out dry and tasteless. Horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
A good basic recipe that can be added to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Newton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made them in mini-muffin pans and they took just as long to bake as in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I had no eggs on hand! But I had already started this recipe thinking I had some. People in my house like eggs. So, to add moisture I used half and half and added about 3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese. Oh, also I used coconut oil instead of canola because canola is GMO. It turns out, you can do without eggs. Recipe was good without it! I also used my cast iron skillet, which was just fine. It wasn't a fluffy type of corn muffin, but the taste was really good. Everyone liked it. Next time I will add corn that I ran thru the blender for a few seconds to add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States