Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it many times. Simple and so delicious. The only change I make is I substitute buttermilk for the regular milk. My son can eat the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niskayuna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I was looking for a corn meal muffin recipe that was somewhat on the healthier side. I used brown rice flour instead of white flour and used honey instead of the canola oil. They turned out great!! Very moist and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dara666
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Simple and tasty. I like that it took me just two mixing bowls and 20 minutes to have those nice treats at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I finally tried it today. My son, who isn't a lover of cornmeal, loved it. After taking just a little piece, he was asking for a whole one. Can't wait to eat it with some guava jam!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I give it five stars because it is a great basic recipe and that is precisely what it was posted as. It was easy to add ingredients to make it what i wanted. As is, I would say it would be better served as a texture compliment with savoury dishes or very sweet deserts as it is quite plain to taste. I added vanilla and increased the sugar for a sweet treat and used skim instead of whole milk. I also added a tbsp of vinegar. I usually add vinegar to anything I bake that I want to have a ligter, less glutenous texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe! I used it to top my pulled pork casserole and it turned out awesome! Next time I'd like to try it as a loaf though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very tasty. I took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra egg, corn, chopped jalapeno's and Mexican blend shredded cheese (about a heaping 1/2 cup. I also used white cornmeal but I'm sure they would be just as tasty with yellow. Next time I want to try buttermilk instead of milk. I have also used Martha White Buttermilk cornmeal mix in the past and it turned out really good just don't add the baking powder. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out well. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have used the recipe for years. You can use a bit more milk to thin it out and cook like a pancake in the sauté pan (non stick or seasoned iron skillet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just brought a lot of peppers back from a trip to Dallas, and one of the things I made for Christmas gifts this year was jalapeño jelly which I planned to gift with corn muffins. The muffins cooked for 15 minutes, and were not quite as moist as I would have liked, I think a result of overcooking. Moving forward, I would check them at 12 minutes, could be my oven running hotter than most. I added chopped red and green jalapeños to the batter which brought a bit of a Holiday theme and color to the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States