Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Definitely a good, reliable recipe! I halved it, to make a half dozen, and still used one egg, so I think they turned out a little cakier than they should have. I imagine if they were a little bit denser and moister they would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Exactly what I was looking for! All the corn bread recipes I've tried have been too sweet but these were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Delicious!! Upped the sugar to 1/2 cup but left everything else the same. The only problem was the baking time...after 11 minutes at 400F they were already browning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It is an ok corn muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this recipe and was surprised at how delicious it was. I used evaporated milk and whole wheat flour. The batter was a little dry so I added more water until I got it just right. I baked it and made sure I did not over cook to avoid dryness. Even with whole wheat flour they rose up nicely and tasted great!!. I then cut them open and put smart balance buttery spread in them while hot. They were delicious. Thanks a lot, will use this recipe every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Followed exactly, got perfect results! Great flavor, wonderful texture, and super easy! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I baked a little longer til golden brown and I added whole kernal corn to the batter which made the muffins have more texture. they were a hit with my bbq chicken and green beans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
It's not a recipe for a sweet tooth, but they definitely hit the spot. Besides, that's what honey is for =) I love how fast it was to whip them up and have them in the oven in under the time it took for the oven to preheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Not too dry but not too soggy. I only used a quarter cup sugar and added coconut. Also, for half I added hot sauce for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States