Basic Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good- like the sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
We thought these were perfect. I'm a Jiffy girl, raised on it ;), and have been looking for a recipe that I could use to get away from the box mix. These were just as easy to make and tasted great. Not to sweet, not to dry or moist. So thanks for replacing my box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Totally awesome. Goes well with anything, at any time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caty24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So easy to make!! I made mine a bit healthier by using applesauce rather than oil, half whole wheat flour and adding 3 tbsp. of flax seed. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Good recipe, but -- change the milk to buttermilk and add 1/2tsp baking soda; leave out the sugar; and bake in a hot, well-greased iron skillet; and you have Grandma's good, old-fashioned cornbread. Goes great with bean soup, or with a cold glass of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I read the ingredients and thought "this doesn't seem like it's going to make a great muffin". I looked at all the posted photos and I thought "these muffins don't look very good". But 260 people had reviewed the recipe and gave it 5 stars so they must be good. Right? I made them exactly to the recipe with only one exception. I used skim milk. They were not good. Not moist. Not flavorful. I think they should be called bisquits, not muffins. They are dense, dry, and with only the slightest sweetness. 1/3 cup of sugar for 12 muffins makes a muffin that can only be called savory. So if you know that going in you won't be surprised. And there's nothing wrong with savory. But if you expect them to taste like a breakfast muffin, I'd double the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
these turned out very dry. I follwed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I give this 4 stars for the 'basic' base. I made them as written without changing anything as I tend to be a purist and make it like it says first, then go from there. It turned out 'ok', not spectacular, but just ok. I only got 10 muffins out of the batch too and that was a stretch to equally divvy up. The only thing that you could say I did different was to soak the cornmeal in milk for about 10 minutes (I read other recipes stating people had done that), not sure if it made a difference but I would think it would help to soften up the cornmeal so it isn't that 'gritty'. They are a bland muffin that definitely needs some zing, so next time I am adding jalapenos and jack cheddar to them. I served them with Buffalo Wing Chicken pieces and a caesar salad. You do need something to help soak into them otherwise your reaching for water because of their dry texture. Thanks for the recipe Doug, will modify future batches. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great basic recipe, which I jazzed up by adding 1/2 cup shredded monterey jack cheese and 1 large jalapeno, finely chopped (sort of a "Mexican" corn muffin, if you will). The cheese really moistened the muffin and the jalapeno adds a nice kick to every bite. My only complaint is that I only got 10 muffins out of the recipe, which I thought was odd. Next time I'll add a little more cornmeal and flour to try to stretch the recipe. Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Demarest, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I give these muffins 5 stars based on the simplicity of the recipe and the taste. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and I have used sour cream with great success. I also bake at 375 and my muffins are usually moist with great flavor. I make these often and the recipe has earned a permanent place in my recipe box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Crab-Stuffed Corn Muffins

See how to make an incredible muffin stuffed with fresh crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States