Basic Cookie Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this mix and used in in pb cookies. They turned out ok, but spread quite a bit. I'm looking forward to trying it in more recipes. After using 2 c. for the pb mix I put the remaining mix in pint canning jars for easy use the next time I make cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Good for gift-giving. I've only made the brownies from this recipe...but I can only eat them with tons of frosting...otherwise, they aren't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Horrible recipe. I made everything that this mix was to be used for but still yet it came out looking like water. None of the recipes even tasted good. I love to bake and well, I know that I will never use this recipe for anything ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxThePerfectMistakexx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belcourt, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
When you make this recipe, I would recommend using a finely ground dry milk powder. The one I used has larger rounds that resisted my sifting actions. I made basic sugar cookies and peanut butter cookies from this basic mix. Since this basic recipe is part of what guaranteed success or lack thereof, I have to report that the peanut butter cookies came out pretty great and the basic sugar cookies were flat. I wouldn't use my remaining basic cookie mix to make any more sugar cookies but I would definitely be making more peanut butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
We've used this recipe for the past two years as the base for our bake sale cookies. I prefer to reduce the butter and/or add a bit more mix for better consistancy. We make 15+ different kinds of cookies by adding different fruit, nuts, candies, coconut, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
these were amazing!! I used coconut oil instead of butter and they came out so wonderful. I didn't melt the coconut but put it in solid and added a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I'm just surprised it doesn't have more reviews!!! because it taste wonderful! I think that the dough is a bit too soft but I added extra flour! so you can add an extra cup of flour or as much flour as you think you need until the dough is a little bit tougher enough for you to make a shape. Then add anything you like on your cookies and Voila! a very tasty and easy cookie mix!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I have tried it for chocolate chip and peanut butter cookies and making the basic cookie mix ahead of time makes making cookies WAYYY easier! I absolutely love this recipe and will use it forever!! Thank you so much for making my life easier...well at least the baking part! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Pros: easy & handy! Cons: too high of a sugar to flour ratio? I made the choc chip & coconut ones so far, and they were candy like in terms of sugary taste. Not bad if you like that, but many cookie recipes have less sugar than flour so next time if I make this I will reduce the sugar by a cup. The bad side of doing that is I might just be left with enough for 3.5 batches of cookies instead of 4. Also, I think the sifting step might really help to thoroughly mix the ingredients, I wonder if people have had different results because of unevenly mixed ingredients? (For example, too much baking powder clumped in one of the cups taken or or not enough, etc.?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This makes any busy mother's life a whole simpler! Just add your wet ingredients along with whatever else, and your kids' friends will think you are a full-time working mom/Betty Crocker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: James Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States