Basic Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
Using the basic mix really cuts down on the time. It's easy to put together. Drop the cookies or form them into balls but don't flatten or the edges will burn. Crispy and Chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
When ever we have kids over to visit mine we make these great easy cookies. I make 1/2 a recipe for each kid & then I let the children deside how much of what to add. nuts, coconut, Chocolate Chips. Everyone has a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I can't believe how easy this is. My family adored these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Somthing is wrong with this recipe. A half cup of butter to 2 cups of mix plus the egg was way too much butter. What happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Flavour wasn't bad, but cookies flattened too much and came out hard, tried adding more flour ingredients, but didn't make much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews before making this recipe. These cookies turned out too flat and burned on the edges. And I agree with the other review that said that there was too much butter as well. I was very disappointed with the results. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Pretty awful. I never wrote a review before,but, this one warranted it. Terrible, flat, burned edges, chewy, AWFUL. Will never make this one again. Way too much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Reduced butter to 6 Tb, next time will try 5. Very very sugary, like crystallized sugar cookies with chocolate chips. They do flatten out a lot while baking. Just short of 12 minutes they were crispy-soft and not burned in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I agree with the other, this recipe is not quite right. Here are my changes: 1 stick margarine, 4 cups cookie mix, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup of shortening, 3 eggs, 1 cup choco chips: then these turned out great! I agree the basic mix does make tings easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
this is a good recipe but pls check out mine http://allrecipes.com/PersonalRecipe/62302157/chocolate-chip-cookie/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States