Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
It is cheaper to buy a low sodium stock than to make this. The instructions to clearify the stock are great, but that is the highest praise I can give it. After it had simmered for an hour it still tasted like salt water, so I let it sinner for 2.5 hours. The stock cooked down, but it wasn't very flavorful. I won't waste my tine with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Perfect, basic chicken stock. It was my first time making chicken stock, and the cloves threw me off. But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was fantastic! I didn't clarify it. I stuck it in the fridge and after the fat got hard I picked it off and tossed it. I didn't need it to be clear. The flavor was outstanding! I didn't know it could be so easy to make stock/broth. I may never use store bought again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I haven't used this recipe yet (but I couldn't post without a star rating so I gave it a 4 because it's so similar to how I make stock) but when I make chicken stock I strain it using a jelly bag. Gets out the tiny little flecks of herb particles so I get a nice clear stock. It also takes out a lot of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A great basic recipe for stock - we use it all the time after we make the Roasted Vegetable Chicken recipe (listed on this site) (using just the bones and what's left on them). Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was delicious! I had a few pounds of split bone-in breasts that needed to be used and this was exactly what I wanted. I added a clove of garlic and some peppercorns into the mix. When the chicken was cooked through I took it out, pulled the meat off and tossed the bones back in for a little while. The resulting broth is so rich and delicious, it's wonderful! Since I made quite a lot, I'm freezing it in 4-cup increments. Boil some noodles and veggies in it, put the pre-cooked chicken back in and it makes such a yummy soup and it has a "cooked all day" taste, even though you can make it in about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is a delicious, natural recipe & the best of the many stock recipes I have tried. I used 4 lbs inexpensive chicken parts & water to cover. Yield was 4 cups excellent stock which I froze. In addition to the veggies mentioned in the recipe, I added a few peeled garlic cloves, fresh parsley sprigs, thyme sprigs, bay leaves, and a few peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Great recipe...came in handy when I found I was out of chicken broth & boullion! It was wonderful & the dish I used it in was superb! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a good recipe. If you cook the stock for 2 or 3 hours, it's overcooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States