Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
an absolute must when making homemade chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Excellent! I had never made my own stock before, but there was too much meat on my leftover Thanksgiving turkey bones to just throw it away. I finally used my stock pot for something besides bobbing for apples, and the stock was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Worked really well for Turkey gravy and we didn't miss the cloves or egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
my house smells like heaven :)I added some more spices(our taste)and some lemon slices----this is the day after thanksgiving so i am using a turkey carcass---wonderful broth ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Thank you for the recipe. I can now make my own stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
It's a nice basic chicken stock. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is a great starter recipe for chicken stock, although I’m not sure if it’s a true stock, simply because by definition a stock is made from liquid, veggies and bones… the internals of the bones producing a richer texture than broth. In addition, stocks are traditionally cooked longer (several hours). In contrast, a broth is an aromatic liquid made by simmering water with meat and veggies for an hour or so. The process of clarifying the liquid is called building a “raft” and it’s something we had to perfect within the first few weeks at the Culinary Institute. Rafts can be simply eggs, or they can be a combination of eggs and other ingredients. For example, the rafts we made at the CIA included eggs tomato, onion, leek, celery, etc. Not only did it clear the liquid, in addition the ingredients flavored it. The whole theory behind a raft is that denatured proteins (the ingredients in the raft) attract cooked proteins. Once more thing… Once a stock is clarified, it changes names to a consommé. And now you know the rest of the story…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
745 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Very good recipe, I did add fresh parsley form my garden, only cause my family loves in chicken soup. I am planning on canning this broth so I have it on hand this winter for soups. Won't be buying store bought broth anymore :) Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This recipe is great, except for the cloves. They give a weird taste to the broth. I have made it several times substituting peppercorns for the cloves. Then it is a lovely clear broth great for soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I added some yellow food coloring so it would look as good as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States