Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I was just going to use this for the broth but the veggies tasted so good I had to make a soup! I used a chicken carcass, didnt have any cloves but thew in some peppercorn. Cooked for 3 hours. Will never throw out the chicken bones again. This was great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I like this recipe and method very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaTMann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I tripled the recipe and instead of cloves, I used 9 garlic cloves, basically a whole bulb of garlic. I added 9 peppercorns, 2 bay leaves and a bunch of fresh parsley including the stems and doubled the salt. Wow, this was so clever and easy to make. While I was making this I baked some fresh Sweet Potatoes. MMMM *** I will use this recipe all the time*** UPDATE: I used this stock in Mama Mandola's Spicy Chicken Soup that had called for water and wow it made the soup 100% better, (I also added Chili Powder, red pepper flakes and other spices to that recipe)! Again, thank you for posting this easy and yummy stock recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I made this stock to flavor my rice so I didn't add much meat, mostly vegetables. I also added 1/2 tsp. of herbs. I skipped the egg step and just put it through a strainer. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Great recipe. Added 2 lemon leaves (from my tree- or you could use some zest) 2 tsp dried thyme and 1 tsp celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Wardell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Excellent basic stock recipe. I make sure that all fat/skin is removed from the chicken before I put it in the pot, and I usually use a whole fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I stopped making stock years ago because I could never get it clear enough! The egg shell/white step works GREAT and the recipe would get a 5 star for that alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I knew I wanted to make stock, but I had no idea what to do. This was a great starter recipe. I only used 1/2 an onion (skin on), added 2 cloves of garlic, and omitted the cloves. I simmered for 1 hour uncovered, 2 hours covered. I cooled and refrigerated, skimmed the fat off and repeated. I did this 3 times until there was almost no trace of visible fat. It came out very nicely. I didn't use the egg method, as I really didn't need clear broth, but that's good to know. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This turned out great and was so easy to do. I used the stock later for a Italian wedding style soup and it was so amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Delicious! Much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States