Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was really good and the technique of the egg was something I had never done before. I will, that it did lack a lot of flavor, hence it's a basic chicken stock. It really did a great job with the chicken, my chicken was very juicy and tender and was falling to pieces. It diffently helped enhance the chicken noodle soup that I also made from this site. I would enhance the stock with a blend of italian seasonings next time. But this is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This made a really nice, flavorful, yellow chicken broth. G proportions of meat/water/vegetables. I'm assuming the "cloves" meant garlic. Also, good to note that there's no bay leaf in this recipe...bay leaf belongs in soup, imo, but not in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used this when I hve a left over chicken or turkey carcas. It is so delicious! It tastes so much better than the canned stuff! I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
delicious.i devided for portions for 2 cups and keep them at the freezer for using anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy to do! I added poultry spice, basil and thyme then simmered for 2 and a half hours. Very yummy and could eat it on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devoncarruthers

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was wonderful. My daughter is allergic to milk and most chicken broth has milk in it. It will be making this often to freeze and store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used chicken carcasses from the Roast Sticky chicken recipe from this site. I tossed in all the veggies listed here and some leeks, as well as some peppercorns. I simmered it for about 1 1/2 - 2 hours. Great basic stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
good, i did use less cloves and added sea salt, fresh sage, basil and thyme, and added a couple cloves of garlic. very good soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I love the instructions on clarifying! Thank you! I also add bay leaf, nix the cloves and add peppercorns. Also, I used the carcass of a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store that we had for supper the night before. Now I feel proud of myself for being so thrifty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This turned out amazing!! I used some frozen chicken carcasses, added bayleaf, garlic, and some peppercorns, simmered for several hours...strained...refrigerated....once cooled..skimmed fat...and froze in ice cube trays (4 full cubes = 1/4 cup {approx}) keep in freezer bag ready to use....soooo much better than store bought!! UPDATE...I have found that roasting the carcass along with the vegetables and onions adds another level of flavor to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States