Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Yummy!!! This is so much better than canned and well worth the effort. My additions: Italian parsley which I grow, black pepper, 2 bay leaves. I used a pkg. of leg quarters; removed the chicken after 30 min so it wouldn't dry out, also the vegetables; returned the bones to the pot for about 45 min. I didn't do the clarifying part, may try that next time. Then made Tortellini Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First off, for your mirepoix you should have 2 parts onion to one part carrots and one part celery. You should never add salt to a stock since this is just supposed to be a base for soups which will be seasoned with salt when cooked. Clove??? A general sachet for chicken (white) stock calls for bay leaves, dried thyme, crushed peppercorns, and parsley stems. Cold water optional???? Never used warm or hot water to start your stock, alway used cold water, you learn that in cooking 101!! And remember, a chicken stock is made with chicken bones only, no meat!! if you are using meat instead of bones then you are making a broth not a stock. If you constantly skim off the impurities that float to the surface while cooking, there is no need for this egg technique to clarify your broth. Also, for the mirepoix, 1 inch chunks is a little too big for chicken stock, you normally use 1 inch piece of mirepoix when making a dark stock like veal stock which is cooked for about 20 hours, for chicken (white stock) you should cut your mirepoix no larger than 1/2 inch to impart more flavor into your stock. Also, you could also cook the stock longer than the suggested time, doing so will draw out more flavor from the bones and mirepoix. If you want to make dark chicken stock, simply bake the bones until browned on both sides and carmelize the mirepoix (not the celery, since its mostly water and will stop the carmelization process) before adding to stockpot. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used frozen chicken breasts, baby carrots and the conversion for ground cloves and it worked great. I was using this in a pot pie recipe so I didn't need to clarify but the taste of the pot pie was amazing! I'm making it now for broth needed in chicken lasagna. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very helpful recipe. Came out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great stock recipe. I keep going back to it every time I have a picked over rotissorie chicken in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Use this as a base for "chicken lasagna in broth"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Logan, adding the egg and shell to clear the broth is my favorite cooking tip of the year. I have been telling everyone! My broth is crystal clear now and I have made it twice this month. It takes the greasy flavor out and you taste the chicken instead, and I'm guessing it must lower the calories as well. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMcGuire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was really good and the technique of the egg was something I had never done before. I will, that it did lack a lot of flavor, hence it's a basic chicken stock. It really did a great job with the chicken, my chicken was very juicy and tender and was falling to pieces. It diffently helped enhance the chicken noodle soup that I also made from this site. I would enhance the stock with a blend of italian seasonings next time. But this is a total keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This made a really nice, flavorful, yellow chicken broth. G proportions of meat/water/vegetables. I'm assuming the "cloves" meant garlic. Also, good to note that there's no bay leaf in this recipe...bay leaf belongs in soup, imo, but not in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I used this when I hve a left over chicken or turkey carcas. It is so delicious! It tastes so much better than the canned stuff! I follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States