Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Wow - the egg trick really worked and my stock is great! I added a bay leaf and garlic to my recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe! Stock tastes delish, versitile... a "must have on hand" in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZULIE213

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is great, I add parsnips to the mix of veggies for a nice little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Yummy!!! This is so much better than canned and well worth the effort. My additions: Italian parsley which I grow, black pepper, 2 bay leaves. I used a pkg. of leg quarters; removed the chicken after 30 min so it wouldn't dry out, also the vegetables; returned the bones to the pot for about 45 min. I didn't do the clarifying part, may try that next time. Then made Tortellini Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
First off, for your mirepoix you should have 2 parts onion to one part carrots and one part celery. You should never add salt to a stock since this is just supposed to be a base for soups which will be seasoned with salt when cooked. Clove??? A general sachet for chicken (white) stock calls for bay leaves, dried thyme, crushed peppercorns, and parsley stems. Cold water optional???? Never used warm or hot water to start your stock, alway used cold water, you learn that in cooking 101!! And remember, a chicken stock is made with chicken bones only, no meat!! if you are using meat instead of bones then you are making a broth not a stock. If you constantly skim off the impurities that float to the surface while cooking, there is no need for this egg technique to clarify your broth. Also, for the mirepoix, 1 inch chunks is a little too big for chicken stock, you normally use 1 inch piece of mirepoix when making a dark stock like veal stock which is cooked for about 20 hours, for chicken (white stock) you should cut your mirepoix no larger than 1/2 inch to impart more flavor into your stock. Also, you could also cook the stock longer than the suggested time, doing so will draw out more flavor from the bones and mirepoix. If you want to make dark chicken stock, simply bake the bones until browned on both sides and carmelize the mirepoix (not the celery, since its mostly water and will stop the carmelization process) before adding to stockpot. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used frozen chicken breasts, baby carrots and the conversion for ground cloves and it worked great. I was using this in a pot pie recipe so I didn't need to clarify but the taste of the pot pie was amazing! I'm making it now for broth needed in chicken lasagna. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very helpful recipe. Came out great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Great stock recipe. I keep going back to it every time I have a picked over rotissorie chicken in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Use this as a base for "chicken lasagna in broth"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Logan, adding the egg and shell to clear the broth is my favorite cooking tip of the year. I have been telling everyone! My broth is crystal clear now and I have made it twice this month. It takes the greasy flavor out and you taste the chicken instead, and I'm guessing it must lower the calories as well. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMcGuire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States