Basic Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I make chicken broth every time I cook either a whole or cut up chicken. Just put the giblets in a pot with 4-6 cups of water and add celery, onion, parsley, bayleaf and salt and pepper. If cut up chicken, add the wings and back. simmer 30 min to 1 hour, cool and strain, then freeze in 2 cup portions in zipper bags. It's easy and I never run out of broth. I was glad to see the instructions for clarifying, however my broth usually doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This sounds exactly like my own chicken stock recipe except for the cloves. I use whole allspice. In addition, I add garlic cloves or dried minced garlic for extra flavor and cook it longer to make a nice rich stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
In honesty, I am not overly impressed with this recipe. I'm sorry. Maybe it's because I doubled it. I believe it was the cloves that ruined it for me. I was looking to try something different then my own way and I'm glad I did :) Thanks for sharing it, but i will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I was startled at how good this is! I had boiled the turkey carcass and decided to try using the water to make broth. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was the first I had heard of using an egg to clarify the stock, and it worked BEAUTIFULLY! My stock was already on the stove when I came across this, so I didn't use the same recipe, but I'm giving it 5 stars for revolutionizing the way I handle a homemade chicken noodle soup craving..I was ready to eat it greasy, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Awesome broth recipe. I made chicken and rice soup with this and it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Skywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made the stock....but wanted to share my cheap discovery. I usually buy boneless chicken breast...so I don't think to save chicken carcass to make stock. I go to the 99 Ranch Market in Houston(Very nice Asian Market) and buy the chicken carcass. I paid $2.00 for two of them. This is extremely convenient for me since I only make stock about twice a year..and it's not something I plan ahead to do since it's just me. Don't want to overload my freezer with bones I "may" use in the future. Makes for a great stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
haven't made this yet, but I wanted to thank you Logan for sharing your professional knowledge and education. I soak it up when professionals stop by here to teach those of us that are craving such knowledge! Even for something as simple as chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Atwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
10 stars for me...my first pot of homemade stock and it was amazing....I used the carcass from a 7ilb roaster that I made "Sticky Rotis. Chicken" from this site (so there were lots of spices still attached to it. I also omitted the cloves and did not do the egg trick. I did add 3 cloves of garlic which I just smashed and threw in, 2 bay leaves and some dry thyme leaves. Dark, rich and so delicious....made a wonderful chicken soup with this and froze the rest of the stock. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Yummy, although I didn't do the egg trick. Had floaters, but really didn't care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States