Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I added dried cranberries and pumpkin seeds! Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Love this recipe as a basic that you can do magical things to enhance for the season. I start with a roasted chicken from the store, chop it up, add ingredients and then toss in what I have on hand, or what I want to feature for the season. Today I cut up fresh peaches and sliced almonds. The lemon is important. I also reduce the may to 1/3 cup, and it is plenty! Make this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Basic is best! I needed to make chicken salad for a party, and I didn't want to add too many unusual ingredients, not knowing the tastes of the many guests. I don't make chicken salad for myself, and don't know how it's supposed to taste, so I wanted to start with a good basic recipe. I've said in other reviews that I'm sure some cooks think it's silly that there are recipes on here for things that they just make from memory. To those of us who have never made them before and want to get it right on the first try, these recipes are a lifesaver. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I was looking for a simple recipe and this was it. I cut chicken breasts into small cubes and seasoned with S&P, garlic powder and onion powder. I then baked for about 20-25 minutes on 400 on a baking sheet. I let the chicken cool and added the mayo, lemon juice, a little more S&P, some small diced onion and celery. My family doesn't like nuts in chicken salad so I left out. I put on toasted bread with some lettuce, tomato and sliced pickle. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Great chicken salad on it's own. I used a rotisserie chicken. Omitted the almonds but added garlic and onion powders and some cran raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I seasoned the chicken breasts with black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and a little cayenne pepper. I added a tsp of relish, capers and a pinch of pink Himalayan salt to the chicken salad. I added some diced red onion to the second batch I made. If you like a strong onion flavour will like it this way. If not, omit it. So delicious and perfect for making chicken salad wraps. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This has been my basic recipe for years . Usually use pecans and add craisins. When I'm feeling really adventurous I add curry powder. This is a great jumping off point. Don't omit the lemon; it really brightens it up. Serving tonight at my *Friendsmas* dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is pretty good. You can really taste the zing of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Wonderful, quite tasty, and simple which is most often the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Less is more as they say. Absolutely delicious! Just made it tonight so that we would have a light supper before all the heavy eating for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Serving it over romaine lettuce, thus saving calories and carb counts for tomorrow...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States