Basic Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I switch out the mayo for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great simple recipe. I added walnuts instead of almonds and a half chopped apple...think it was a Fuji. Will make this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is my base recipe, and it's fabulous! I've tweaked it a little over time, but it's very good on it's own. I usually end up making a quadruple batch because it's so popular. I also add pecan chips, celery, and grapes for the crunch, and tarragon, and it's everyone's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this with miracle whip light, and on top of the basic recipe I added a little bit of garlic powder, onion powder, less than 1/2 tsp dijon, tbsp dill relish, and used leftover grilled chicken breast. Yum! I love the toasted almonds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and it was pretty good. Made a few changes. I used leftover lemon pepper rotisserie chicken from walmart. Not quite a full tbsp of lemon juice because it was already lemony. No almonds but I did put in cut up pieces of half an avocado. Served on fresh baked rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This makes a classic chicken salad with the lovely hint of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Great jumping off point, as others have stated, but is good even without tweaking. The lemon and the freshly ground pepper are standouts. This time I added a small chopped apple; and for the dressing some dijon mustard (1/2 tsp.), 1/2 of a drive-thru honey mustard bbq pkt. we had on hand, 1/8 tsp. garlic powder, pinch of onion powder, along with the lemon juice and pepper. Served over a bed of spinach and garnished with dried cranberries, almond slivers, bacons bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Absolutely loved it. Best I have tasted from the crunchy texture of the almonds to the punches of sweetness from the grapes made this a delight in every bite. Thank you. Definitely a keeper. Oh didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cexi777
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Would you believe...this is the first time I've ever made chicken salad??? I picked this recipe because of its simplicity and my family absolutely loved it! Extremely easy to make- the hardest part was chopping the celery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cexi777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic! I like simple recipes, and this one delivers simplicity and excellent taste. The toasted sliced almonds add such a wonderful depth of flavor. Thank you so much!! This one will be a staple in my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeadsNWire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States