Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love love love this cheesecake! Substituted the spur cream for 1 cup plain yogurt. It was delicious! My cheesecake did crack. I think next time I will bake it at a lower temp for longer as others have suggested....but the flavor was still spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Turned out perfect and it did not crack. Thanks it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good cheesecake. Followed recipe except that I omitted nuts from the crust. I also at the suggestion of others left the cheesecake to cool in the oven with the door slightly ajar for about two hours to avoid cracks. It worked well, no cracks but the top was a little well done. I wanted to serve a plain cheesecake and offer my guests different topping but it was just too brown so I used a can of strawberry filling on top. Looked very nice and tasted very good. I would definitely make again just need to figure out how to get it not to brown so much on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I absolutely love this cheesecake recipe. I make a few small changes; I increase the crust by half because in love a thick crust, adjusting all other crust ingredients accordingly. I leave out the walnuts. For the cheesecake filling, my on,y addition is switching out 1/4 cup of the white sugar for light brown sugar. It's delicious! I use a water bath and bake at 310, rotating once, eyeballing for doneness (about an hour). I get compliments on it everywhere I take one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaanananaaa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this as a birthday cake. One huge crack in the middle. Wasted my time and supplies. I followed this recipe completely letting it cool in oven. I should have used the recipe on the Philadelphia Cream Cheese package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed the recipie and it turned out just like the picture. People have the impression that I am a great cook, but in reality this website has taught me many things through great recipes such as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
i added about 4 tblsp of fresh lemon juice and about 1 and 1/2 lemons worth of zest. i also added 1 additional tblsp of flour to make up for the extra juice. it gave it a really nice lemon zing! i plan to top it with blueberry compote with a tiny touch of fresh basil. it DID crack but im sure the flavor is spot on so oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by el grande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have made this twice and both times splitsville I don't know what I'm doing wrong I followed the directions to the t :( love the taste it was good good split really bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Just as the name implies, its your basic cheesecake. Not as heavy as what Ive made in the past which was nice but also not as rich. It satisfied my craving and will be nice with additional toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeghanJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I used another crust for this - but my family and our company thought this was truly the best cheesecake they had ever experienced on the planet. Prepared it virtually exactly as described and it came out w/o cracks, looking flawless. Water bath and sitting in oven for two hours is crucial. Let it sit overnight in frig. Taste is rich w/o being heavy. It may not be low-calorie - but it is a real treat. I fixed two easy sauces: raspberry and strawberry. But it was best all by itself. The Cheesecake Factory has nothing on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States