Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This was my first attempt at making a homemade cheesecake. The recipe was easy to follow and it tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I baked this recipe with my husband and daughter and they loved it! We didn't have a speingform pan and a mixer so we ended up making 3 9"inch pans which were thin but still very delicious... We'll be baking this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I only baked it for 20min. Maybe my oven is hotter than most. I topped it with a blueberry drizzle and it was bangin'! Scrumdidlyumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2001
EXCELLENT! Everyone thought it was store bought! Texture and taste was amazing, cracked a little but easily hidden with fruit pie filling topping. Crust was awesome even though I left out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Yay! First cheesecake I have ever baked that worked. It got rave reviews too. There is a fine line between being done and overdoing where it cracks, but it still tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Great recipe!!! Wonderful crust and very smooth silky texture. I used 2 Tbs. vanilla, I prefer a bolder vanilla flavor. After baking, I turned off the oven and left the cheesecake in to cool slowly for about an hour and a half. No cracks and it de-paned perfectly... Thanks for this wonderful recipe... It’s a “keeper”! Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
I found that sifting the flour into the batter helped it blend more evenly. The second timeI doubled up on the vanilla, which resulted in a cake we preferred to the first attempt--if you like the vanilla flavour to be less subtle you may want to do the same. A dense, rich cake that wasn't too sweet. The crust recipe is particularly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This cheesecake was excellent; the first one that I had made with sour cream as one of the ingredients. The crust was excellent, too. I omitted the walnuts and added extra graham cracker crumbs. I baked mine in a 9 1/2 inch springform pan for 55 minutes and it turned out perfectly, and, best of all, this recipe produced a cake that didn't crack when set. YAY! My husband had never had a "real" cheesecake, and he said this one was one of the best things--dessert or otherwise--he had ever eaten!! Great recipe!! Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARA K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
I have tried numerous cheesecake recipes that never seem to come out perfectly. This one is as near to perfection as I've found. (At our family gathering, my niece actually said it was better than her mom's! ouch)Smooth, creamy, not too heavy, not too sweet. I'll definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This cheesecake received rave reviews when I made it. One suggestion would be to cover the cheesecake during the final 1/2 hour of baking to prevent browning. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States