Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was a good cheesecake. BUT the top browned too much for my liking. I read reviews about it cracking, so I let the cheesecake cool in the oven. Literally, once it was done, we went to a Christmas celebration and I didn't take it out until we got home(2 hours later)- no cracks!! I also didn't over mix the filling. I used our mixer on the lowest setting the entire time. The crust is okay. I agree with another review that stated it's kinda a distraction from tasting the flavor of the cheesecake. Next time I'll use a basic graham cracker crust. I also looked into it browning on the top. I found an article about the baking temp. Apparently cheesecakes should be baked at 250-300 degrees. Next time I will bake it at 300 degrees for about 80-90 minutes. Edit: I just made this for Christmas yesterday. I baked it at 300 degrees for about 80 minutes, and I had NO brown top!! I left if in the oven to cool for 30 minutes, then cracked the door and left it in for another 30 minutes. It was perfect. NO cracks, and I didn't go through the trouble of using a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I like the texture of this cheesecake better than another recipe I made at the same time. This one had a cheesecake feel in your mouth and not just a smooth and creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great basic cheesecake recipe. The crust was really tasty. The only problem I had was my cheesecake puffed up a lot and then sank and the top got over-browned, it still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pateachoux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
First time I ever made a cheesecake, and I bake alot, always scared, it was perfect, did it in the water bath, my husband who is very picky about Cheescake, loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinley's Granny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good. I followed the modifications some people suggested in the comments such as cooking temperature and cooking it in a water bath. It turned out perfect. It was a huge hit with everyone. I also added some snickers bar pieces on top of the crust below the cheese cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I love this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This cheesecake is delicious just the way it is!!! I had my in-laws over for dinner and made this cheescake and topped it off with chopped walnuts and caramel syrup...OMGosh!!! No more store bought cheesecake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Very good...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
great basic cheesecake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elzan88
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Excellent flavor and a real hit. Used store bought Graham cracker lines pans which lead to cracking. Will use a straight pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States