Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
The ***BEST***!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I substituted baking Splenda for sugar, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
First time I ever made a cheese cake and everyone was so amazed how delicious it came out. Very Yummy! Planning to bake it again. Thanks Ronald Uy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Wish I could give it 4.5 stars. Taste-wise it is 5 but in spite of being pretty careful and following reviews ideas, it cracked badly. I also did not like the crust much. Next time I will omit nuts from the crust. But will make it again for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Cheesecake is my favourite dessert, so I have very discerning tastes when it comes to this decadent delight. This is a great basic cheesecake recipe! The cake has a very moist and smooth and texture. The flavour is very rich and creamy. The first time I made this was for Christmas dinner dessert and everyone thought it was a very nice recipe. I did change the crust though; I used a ginger snap crust instead. Crushed gingersnap cookies with butter. I further modified this recipe by making it gluten free, using gluten free flour and gluten free ginger snap cookies, there is really nothing comparable to graham crackers in the gluten free cookie world so I improvised and it was still wonderful! Ginger snaps gave it quite a nice ‘festive’ flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKORONI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I usually make my own recipe cheesecake, but decided to try this one b/c this sounded really good, and is a 'high' cheesecake. Have yet to taste (still in oven), but smells heavenly. I normally dont use a waterbath, but what I do to avoid cracks is place the springform pan on a very sturdy baking sheet when cooking, and never open the oven door. You can easily watch it from using the light switch, of course. When done, turn off oven and leave it in there for an hour, or leave door open ajar. Always refrigerate cheesecake for at least a day or more for optimum flavor, before serving. Never use 'whipped' cream cheese, always buy the 'block' cream cheese, that should always be softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This recipe is just what I was looking for. I wanted a New York style base to use for many different variations. I've tried lemon biscotti with crushed biscotti and lemon zest for the crust. Lemon zest in the batter and lemon curd on the top after it has cooled. Oreo cookies for the crust and in the batter. Melted dark Dove chocolate candy on the top. I've tried it with lemon or lime. Chocolate crust and semisweet chocolate bits in the batter and melted semisweet bits, pecan pieces and caramels on top. The variations could be endless. Orange and mango, peach and mango. Triple chocolate and Grand Marnier. White chocolate and raspberry. Triple chocolate and raspberry. Yep, this was the basic recipe I was looking for. And I use the water bath while baking. Also, I bake for 60 minutes, turn off the oven and leave it there for another hour with the door cracked. It works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I also used sugar cookies for the crust..YUMMY!!!! Best tasting cheesecake ever...simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I love this recipe! This was my first ever baked cheesecake! I followed pamscakes suggestions for not cracking and I didn't get a single crack! I scaled the recipe to serve 10, and made it in an 8" pan. Everybody loved it - I will definitely make this every time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I thought this cheesecake was very good, except it had too many cracks, was not very appealing, but it taste great... I also used a ready bought pie crust, was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States