Basic Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Okay this is for sure a 5 star recipie! A couple things though. If you do not add your own flavoring it can be pretty boring. I added lemon extract, lemon juice and lemon zest. I served it with ras puree. I also left out all the spices for the crust. Another time I made it I used sugar cookies for the crust. That was wonderful! As far as cracks go..LEAVE int he over for a couple hours after you turn the oven off. I never get cracks and I always follow that rule. Also, I had the oven on 340 and only cooked it with the oven on for 30 min. Left it in the oven for another 2 hours. It will continue to cook in the heat just don't open the door! Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
The ***BEST***!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I substituted baking Splenda for sugar, and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
First time I ever made a cheese cake and everyone was so amazed how delicious it came out. Very Yummy! Planning to bake it again. Thanks Ronald Uy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Wish I could give it 4.5 stars. Taste-wise it is 5 but in spite of being pretty careful and following reviews ideas, it cracked badly. I also did not like the crust much. Next time I will omit nuts from the crust. But will make it again for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Cheesecake is my favourite dessert, so I have very discerning tastes when it comes to this decadent delight. This is a great basic cheesecake recipe! The cake has a very moist and smooth and texture. The flavour is very rich and creamy. The first time I made this was for Christmas dinner dessert and everyone thought it was a very nice recipe. I did change the crust though; I used a ginger snap crust instead. Crushed gingersnap cookies with butter. I further modified this recipe by making it gluten free, using gluten free flour and gluten free ginger snap cookies, there is really nothing comparable to graham crackers in the gluten free cookie world so I improvised and it was still wonderful! Ginger snaps gave it quite a nice ‘festive’ flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKORONI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I usually make my own recipe cheesecake, but decided to try this one b/c this sounded really good, and is a 'high' cheesecake. Have yet to taste (still in oven), but smells heavenly. I normally dont use a waterbath, but what I do to avoid cracks is place the springform pan on a very sturdy baking sheet when cooking, and never open the oven door. You can easily watch it from using the light switch, of course. When done, turn off oven and leave it in there for an hour, or leave door open ajar. Always refrigerate cheesecake for at least a day or more for optimum flavor, before serving. Never use 'whipped' cream cheese, always buy the 'block' cream cheese, that should always be softened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
This recipe is just what I was looking for. I wanted a New York style base to use for many different variations. I've tried lemon biscotti with crushed biscotti and lemon zest for the crust. Lemon zest in the batter and lemon curd on the top after it has cooled. Oreo cookies for the crust and in the batter. Melted dark Dove chocolate candy on the top. I've tried it with lemon or lime. Chocolate crust and semisweet chocolate bits in the batter and melted semisweet bits, pecan pieces and caramels on top. The variations could be endless. Orange and mango, peach and mango. Triple chocolate and Grand Marnier. White chocolate and raspberry. Triple chocolate and raspberry. Yep, this was the basic recipe I was looking for. And I use the water bath while baking. Also, I bake for 60 minutes, turn off the oven and leave it there for another hour with the door cracked. It works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I also used sugar cookies for the crust..YUMMY!!!! Best tasting cheesecake ever...simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I love this recipe! This was my first ever baked cheesecake! I followed pamscakes suggestions for not cracking and I didn't get a single crack! I scaled the recipe to serve 10, and made it in an 8" pan. Everybody loved it - I will definitely make this every time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

No-Bake Cheesecake Flag Cake

A light, sweet, no-bake cheesecake topped with fresh berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States