Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
i am not a fan of the creamy version BUT the fried version (chill atleast one hour, cut in circles with a coffee cup and fry in oil that covers bottom of the pan on medium bout 5 minutes per side) is fabulous!! i served with sausage andd peppers with mushrooms in a tomato sauce, excellent substitution for pasta....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My first taste of polenta, was when we ate at Emerils, at Universal Studios Orlando. I was kind of surprised...breakfast meets dinner. Well obviously it was that good and I found myself looking at recipes. I must say that on my first attempt I believe I achieved perfection, but I had to make some changes. I used 2 cups of milk, 2 Tbsp butter, 1/2 cup white cornmeal, salt and pepper to taste, and 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese...yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Holy Majoly! This is a great recipe. It was easy and flavorful. I really enjoyed it. I am going to be making this for all my friends from now on. I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the recipe. I also spread it out in a flat pan and refrigerated it overnight. The next day, I cut out circles and cooked them in a 400-degree oven for 30 min. I then topped them with some mushroom gravy. SO YUMMY!!!! Thank you very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was DELICIOSO!! It was my first time making polenta and this turned out fantastic! I took others' advice and added a little garlic salt. Be sure you keep stirring when you add the corn meal to the boiling water. I refrigerated it for 3 hours then fried it in olive oil...AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! Great cheese flavor- not overpowering. I was eating it by the spoonful out of the pan! I give this recipe a five for being so incredibly EASY and soooooo TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
the best polenta ever, altho you need to monitor the salt due to difference in cheese salt amounts, it is easy to make this too salty. i also cut about 2/3 cup of the water, as i like my polenta very firm, but that is just a personal preference. you can change cheese types and add spice, herbs, meat or vegies to your heart's desire. perfect beginning recipe. just plan ahead (i freeze individual slices in vac seal bags and have it handy for serving all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I really enjoyed making this! My husband is from the San Francisco Bay Area and every elegant restaurant makes Polenta in a variety of ways. I had to try this!! I added some garlic and fresh minced Basil to this recipe. It came out beautiful and fragrant. I sliced and lightly browned it in some olive oil. I served it with a cranberry chutney mixed with a few chopped pickled jalepenos. The outcome was marvelous!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I have ALSO fallen in love with this simple and GOUMET recipe!!! It is a marriage made in heave for eggs in the morning. I too added a little garlic salt, chilled the recipe overnight in a pan. Next morning ct in circles like an english muffin, fry in olive oil, top with an egg and ham or bacon and your favorite salsa. OOOOH.. it's Sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAGMANDO21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Wonderful! I made "green polenta" by adding minced garlic, cilantro, and one half of a finely chopped anaheim chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Really good, the cheese makes the polenta extra creamy. I added some minced fresh garlic and fresh cracked pepper and it made an excellent base for an Italian tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I felt that my polenta was a little too salty due to the cheese. Easily averted by omitting the additional salt. I'd just like to give my experience with attempting to fry the polenta. I'd never done it, so my first batch I tried in my fake French cast-iron skillet. They stuck, and left me with a horrible mush of fried skin and greasy polenta. The trick is to use a non-stick pan. Cover the bottom with 1/4 inch of oil. Heat the oil to medium-high, but make sure that it's HOT before you slide the polenta pieces into the pan. Let them cook until you can see the sides of the pieces browning. Lift with a spatula - if it sticks, leave it for a moment or two longer. Flip, allow to brown, and presto! Tasty fried polenta that is crisp on the outside and creamy delicious on the inside! Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States