Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I don't know what polenta is supposed to be like, but my friend, whose mother makes it every year, agreed with me in saying that the consistency was squishy and it was overall very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Thank you SOoooo much for answering a question I've had for a long time! I just KNEW that I didn't need to be buying the over-priced "polenta" packages! I KNEW there HAD to be a cheaper way of making it myself! Turns out, polenta is really same thing as a childhood favorite: Cornmeal Mush!! Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
the best polenta ever, altho you need to monitor the salt due to difference in cheese salt amounts, it is easy to make this too salty. i also cut about 2/3 cup of the water, as i like my polenta very firm, but that is just a personal preference. you can change cheese types and add spice, herbs, meat or vegies to your heart's desire. perfect beginning recipe. just plan ahead (i freeze individual slices in vac seal bags and have it handy for serving all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is the best and easiest breakfast ever! (Or dinner, or lunch, or...) It cooked a lot quicker than the directions said. I also added some chopped chives. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My first taste of polenta, was when we ate at Emerils, at Universal Studios Orlando. I was kind of surprised...breakfast meets dinner. Well obviously it was that good and I found myself looking at recipes. I must say that on my first attempt I believe I achieved perfection, but I had to make some changes. I used 2 cups of milk, 2 Tbsp butter, 1/2 cup white cornmeal, salt and pepper to taste, and 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese...yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Next time making this I would use a smaller loaf pan. I used a 9x5, and the slices of polenta were very short and thick. When I broiled them for a different recipe (polenta and roasted vegetables) the middles stayed a little too soft. I also definately reccomend adding garlic powder or salt or other spices for extra flavor. Although this was a new taste and texture for us, my husband and I both liked it, and will try it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This was a great recipe! It was my first time making polenta, and even though it took so long to cook (and set) it was so worth it! The parmesan gave it a great flavour, and frying it with a little olive oil was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Much better than store-bought, but a lot more work. It was a little too salty for my taste, so next time I'll cut down on that. Otherwise, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I am not a fan of Plenta but this was really good and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I couldn't find my mom's polenta recipe last night, so I used this one as a substitute. This never set up firm in the fridge like I'm used to (and it was in there at least an hour). I didn't even use all the water this called for!!! Oh well...I do add chopped sun-dried tomatoes and fresh basil when I make this...and don't forget some red pepper!!.....duh...now I notice this direction of letting this set up for 4 hrs!! Sheeze, who has that kind of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States