Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I couldn't find my mom's polenta recipe last night, so I used this one as a substitute. This never set up firm in the fridge like I'm used to (and it was in there at least an hour). I didn't even use all the water this called for!!! Oh well...I do add chopped sun-dried tomatoes and fresh basil when I make this...and don't forget some red pepper!!.....duh...now I notice this direction of letting this set up for 4 hrs!! Sheeze, who has that kind of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Wonderful! I made "green polenta" by adding minced garlic, cilantro, and one half of a finely chopped anaheim chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was DELICIOSO!! It was my first time making polenta and this turned out fantastic! I took others' advice and added a little garlic salt. Be sure you keep stirring when you add the corn meal to the boiling water. I refrigerated it for 3 hours then fried it in olive oil...AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! Great cheese flavor- not overpowering. I was eating it by the spoonful out of the pan! I give this recipe a five for being so incredibly EASY and soooooo TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I have ALSO fallen in love with this simple and GOUMET recipe!!! It is a marriage made in heave for eggs in the morning. I too added a little garlic salt, chilled the recipe overnight in a pan. Next morning ct in circles like an english muffin, fry in olive oil, top with an egg and ham or bacon and your favorite salsa. OOOOH.. it's Sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAGMANDO21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Super easy and tasty! Added 1/2 tsp garlic powder, pan fried in olive oil and topped with roasted vegetable sauce! Served with crusty rosemary sourdough bread. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
good recipe. For an interesting twist, either broil or fry in a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Yummy! Add herbs. Try this with the "Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake" recipe from this site. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
i am not a fan of the creamy version BUT the fried version (chill atleast one hour, cut in circles with a coffee cup and fry in oil that covers bottom of the pan on medium bout 5 minutes per side) is fabulous!! i served with sausage andd peppers with mushrooms in a tomato sauce, excellent substitution for pasta....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Holy Majoly! This is a great recipe. It was easy and flavorful. I really enjoyed it. I am going to be making this for all my friends from now on. I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the recipe. I also spread it out in a flat pan and refrigerated it overnight. The next day, I cut out circles and cooked them in a 400-degree oven for 30 min. I then topped them with some mushroom gravy. SO YUMMY!!!! Thank you very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I really enjoyed making this! My husband is from the San Francisco Bay Area and every elegant restaurant makes Polenta in a variety of ways. I had to try this!! I added some garlic and fresh minced Basil to this recipe. It came out beautiful and fragrant. I sliced and lightly browned it in some olive oil. I served it with a cranberry chutney mixed with a few chopped pickled jalepenos. The outcome was marvelous!! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States