Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very, very easy. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I wanted it to set thick so I could salute in olive oil, so I decreased the hot water to 2 cups. Delicious sauteed until crisp on outside, and soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I did not like this. I mean, its basically cornmeal with water. I couldn't really taste the cheese in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shutchison6180

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The pan fry did not work out for me, but it was very easy to make and tasted just fine to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this last night and it was a hit! After looking at the reviews, I stirred the corn meal in 1 c. of milk and 1/2 t. of garlic salt and 1/2 t. of table salt and the cheese and then boiled in 2 c. of water instead of 3 because we like it thick. I only chilled it for about an hour and maybe didn't need to do it at all since it was firm. I just warmed it in the toaster oven to serve. My partner had three helpings, which he NEVER does. I will definitely make this versatile recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is definitely the easiest polenta outside of slicing up a tube of store bought. I made this to use with my recipe for Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce -- also on allrecipes -- and it was delish. Next time, I will leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was so easy to make. I, too, used less parmesan, added some cream cheese, garlic powder, and some cheddar. Turned out great. This will be my go-to polenta recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I finished this off in the microwave, simmering at 20% for 10 minutes. I love polenta with all the extras, but this is a GREAT basic, low fat, recipe to start with. The only thing I added were a few chopped onions and a little chopped jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is divine comfort food. I chilled for 3 hours, used coffeed cup to cut out circles...like everyone else did, and fried up in olive oil as suggested. Oh so yum. Served with broiled parmesan-lemon tilapia from this site, and some sauteed spinach/mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States