Basic Cheese Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this stuff. You can do it in the microwave, adding the cheese after it's cooked on medium high for 6 minutes ( stir every 3 minutes). Then cook another 3 minutes on medium high. Stir again and then serve immediately, or cool in shallow pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very, very easy. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I wanted it to set thick so I could salute in olive oil, so I decreased the hot water to 2 cups. Delicious sauteed until crisp on outside, and soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I did not like this. I mean, its basically cornmeal with water. I couldn't really taste the cheese in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shutchison6180

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The pan fry did not work out for me, but it was very easy to make and tasted just fine to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this last night and it was a hit! After looking at the reviews, I stirred the corn meal in 1 c. of milk and 1/2 t. of garlic salt and 1/2 t. of table salt and the cheese and then boiled in 2 c. of water instead of 3 because we like it thick. I only chilled it for about an hour and maybe didn't need to do it at all since it was firm. I just warmed it in the toaster oven to serve. My partner had three helpings, which he NEVER does. I will definitely make this versatile recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This is definitely the easiest polenta outside of slicing up a tube of store bought. I made this to use with my recipe for Polenta with Spicy Sausage-Veggie Sauce -- also on allrecipes -- and it was delish. Next time, I will leave out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This was so easy to make. I, too, used less parmesan, added some cream cheese, garlic powder, and some cheddar. Turned out great. This will be my go-to polenta recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I finished this off in the microwave, simmering at 20% for 10 minutes. I love polenta with all the extras, but this is a GREAT basic, low fat, recipe to start with. The only thing I added were a few chopped onions and a little chopped jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States