Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love the simplicity and versatility of the recipe. I added strawberries at the request of my two-year-old. The batter is very thick, but it baked wonderfully. We really like how they are subtly sweet with the hint of nutmeg. This recipe made 18 standard-sized muffins - I filled the papers pretty full. I baked them Saturday evening and as of Monday morning only two are left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The first time I made this recipe it turned out dry. The second time I made it I changed the quanity and omitted a few ingred. Here's what I did the second time around; I let the butter soften instead of melting, omitted the baking powder but did use 1 tsp baking soda, used 2/3 cup of buttermilk, 1 1/2 cup of all purpose flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp of nutmeg and instead of whisking I used my kitchen aid. I creamed the butter and sugar together, added the egg and vanilla extract and beat til smooth. I did not sift the dry ingredients. I alternated the buttermilk with the dry ingredients. Sprayed baking Pam into the muffin pans. I filled each 2/3 full and topped with Jan's Crumb Topping or Streusel. Baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. They came out moist and very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didn't read the reviews so I followed it exactly, subbing choc chips. The batter was thick but really good flavour. I will add more buttermilk next time but this is a great muffin base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveeragon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I really like these muffins. They were super easy to make, and I like that they are so versatile. I only used 2 cups of flour as suggested in another submitter, and am glad I did. I also used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in place of the nutmeg (I didn't have any), and substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar. In half of the batter, I added some chopped up craisins. In the other half, I add some mini chocolate chips and a healthy squirt of honey. After spooning the batter into a muffin tin, I sprinkled the craisin muffins with a little bit of sugar (also suggested by another submitter). When they came out of the oven, they were perfect! Thank you so much for submitting this recipe; these are now my go- to muffins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
If you find that any recipe is sticking to your paper liners you can lightly spray them with pan release spray and they'll peel right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Just okay. Much dryer than I wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fields
Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It was yummmyyy! I cut them in half and put cream cheese in it tasted amazing (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Beautiful muffins, and they taste great. They do come apart pretty badly when you try to separate them from the muffin liner papers. I would try using a greased muffin tin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great muffins! I added blueberries, white chocolate chips and a little lemon extract. I didn't use the nutmeg - I don't care for it. I forgot to set the timer so I ended up cooking them a lot longer than I normally would have - but it ended up being a good thing! The tops were nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Overall a great recipe, however, I don't care for the nutmeg as a base for other ingredients. Once I omit the nutmeg it's a great foundation for any type of muffin I can dream up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States