Basic Buttermilk Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I love that I can add different things&very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
So good! I will use this recipe forever. I was looking for a recipe that I could use my leftover whey from making my own yogurt with and this worked perfect since you can use whey as a substitute for buttermilk. :-) The first time I made these, I used whole wheat flour and put blueberries in. Had to bake a few min longer, but turned out so good! Second time, I'm using regular flour and blackberries and substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg. I'm sure they will be just as delicious! Great basic recipe that's easy to adjust to your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Made these twice at Christmas time. First time followed recipe as written with the following add-ons: 1 chopped apple and about 1/2 cup each of cranberries and chopped walnuts. Delicious. Second time followed the recipe with the same add-ons as before but omitted sugar and gave some to a diabetic couple at church. Came out kind of biscuit-like but still quite good, especially with honey butter. Recipe can be tweaked so many ways...it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamaduke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yikes. These did not work for me. The batter was so dry I just had to add 1/4 cup more of buttermilk. In my opinion there is just too much flour in this recipe. I usually read many reviews before trying a recipe and I didn't this time. Wish I did. I added blueberries to mine but the flavour of the "biscuit muffin" just isn't there. I understand what everyone means by the muffin sticking to the paper. Only half the actual muffin comes out whole. I won't be making these again. Sorry DCKatie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is a solid, basic recipe that lends itself beautifully to creativity. I added 1/2 cup of Craisins, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips and 2 tsp dried orange rind. I especially like the fact the muffin isn't too sweet so depending on what you add this could be a good option for breakfast. Thanks, DCKatie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Great recipe. Easy to follow instructions. I followed recipe, I didn't add any extra ingredients. Just don't over mix batter. I got twelve muffins which were moist. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this recipe but added the eggs and whisked them in using the eggshells as calcium, put in some peanut butter and mixed veggies, and viola! Bird Muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fluffenutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome, light, moist muffins. Mixed 1C diced pears into sifted flour, with a dash of cinnamon (yes, flour before adding the liquids) and substituted honey for the sugar. Taste GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I also used 2 cups of flour only and added 1 cup of dark choc chips. The recipe yielded 12 muffins and 18 mini muffins. Also found that the muffin stuck to the paper, will definitely use spray and cook next time. All in all a great recipe that's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Tastes great and fun to try different add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States