Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I liked this but its bland. I'm not used to cornbread with out the sweet but I did enjoy it. I have been experimenting with pinole, and cant find anything good. I know this is not pinole but it tastes the same to me but easier to swallow. This would go great with chili or to compliment some dish. I love that there is no flour in this recipe. If you like it sweet then it seems easy enough to just add some sweetener to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This should be named "Southern Cornbread" I've made cornbread this way for 60 yrs. The only thing that would make it better, if White Lily still made Three Rivers cornmeal. They stopped about two years ago. It is still excellent. I use a 10" skillet. This is also very good crumbled into a glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
You could use either an 8" or 10" skillet for this recipe. A variation I like is to make this become "cracklin' cornbread," something my grandmother made. In the south, you can buy cracklins in the refrigerated meats section of the store. If that's not available to you, buy a bag of snacking pork rinds and crumble into small bits yielding about 1/4-1/2 cup and mix it in the batter. If you're a "purist," you can use 1/4 cup Crisco or other "solid" shortening in place of the oil; just cut it into the dry cornmeal until you have small crumble results and then add other ingredients. This is my favorite kind of cornbread! Goes great with pinto beans, black-eyed peas, turnip or mustard or collard greens, or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
If you like sweet corn bread or "muffin like" corn bread this is not the corn bread for you. It has no sugar and no flour. This is a plain "southern style cornbread". You can dress it up by adding jalapenos, cheese, or anything else you like. This is just the Basic recipe. This is a great cornbread eaten with chili or on the side of most southern meals. I like it as it is crumbled in a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This makes a great corn BREAD. If Marie Calendar's is waaaay to sweet this is the one for you. Even if you don't top with honey, jam, preserves, jelly or syrup it's quite good. This is the only one I've come across that doesn't doesn't have sugar and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow Stacy this was fabuous and we love this with chili. Thanks for your creativity and sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokyrakune
Home Town: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this! To me, cornbread should never have honey, sugar, or any other sweetener in it - it's corn BREAD, not corn CAKE! :) It should be coarse and savory with a hint of sourness - this fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and have never had any problem with it rising or anything. I follow the recipe exactly and have never had any problems that other reviewers have had. I wonder if it varies depending on the cornmeal? It is a great basic cornbread recipe. I like to add some peppers and cheese to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef William
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I had some buttermilk that I needed to use up so I make this recipe. I served it with chili and it was really good. Strangely enough, the taste of this cornbread seemed very familiar to me, so someone from my childhood must have made their cornbread the same way. I’m also looking forward to taking this basic recipe and playing with it a little. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is HOW I have always made non-sweet cornbread! My husband had Never had non sweet cornbread till I made my recipe similar to this! I don't always us buttermilk! Depends on where you are from the south, and what your family calls corn bread! If you will like this or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States