Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this recipe because it seemed so simple. Apparently too simple. I made my own buttermilk and the whole thing came out tasting like vinegar. I even added some sugar before baking because i noticed that it seemed too bitter. also there's nothing to make it rise. I won't be able to serve this for dinner tonight. wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I had some buttermilk that I needed to use up so I make this recipe. I served it with chili and it was really good. Strangely enough, the taste of this cornbread seemed very familiar to me, so someone from my childhood must have made their cornbread the same way. I’m also looking forward to taking this basic recipe and playing with it a little. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I thought something was missing. Baking powder or something to make it rise a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was bad. I will be removing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRY209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Sorry, I'm from the South and this is now southern cornbread. I want make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
If you like sweet corn bread or "muffin like" corn bread this is not the corn bread for you. It has no sugar and no flour. This is a plain "southern style cornbread". You can dress it up by adding jalapenos, cheese, or anything else you like. This is just the Basic recipe. This is a great cornbread eaten with chili or on the side of most southern meals. I like it as it is crumbled in a tall glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong that the other reviewers did right, but it tasted so bad. Bland, gritty, flat...my husband, kids nor I could even eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I liked this but its bland. I'm not used to cornbread with out the sweet but I did enjoy it. I have been experimenting with pinole, and cant find anything good. I know this is not pinole but it tastes the same to me but easier to swallow. This would go great with chili or to compliment some dish. I love that there is no flour in this recipe. If you like it sweet then it seems easy enough to just add some sweetener to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Wow Stacy this was fabuous and we love this with chili. Thanks for your creativity and sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokyrakune
Home Town: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This should be named "Southern Cornbread" I've made cornbread this way for 60 yrs. The only thing that would make it better, if White Lily still made Three Rivers cornmeal. They stopped about two years ago. It is still excellent. I use a 10" skillet. This is also very good crumbled into a glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Constant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States