Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I loved the flavor and texture but it did not rise for me. I am wondering if it needed baking powder or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
It is a great cornbread. I prolly will not make it again. It is too dense for my tastes. However it is a lot closer to the way my grandma made cornbread then I have found other places. I was more looking for an airy cornbread this deff was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is HOW I have always made non-sweet cornbread! My husband had Never had non sweet cornbread till I made my recipe similar to this! I don't always us buttermilk! Depends on where you are from the south, and what your family calls corn bread! If you will like this or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I love this! To me, cornbread should never have honey, sugar, or any other sweetener in it - it's corn BREAD, not corn CAKE! :) It should be coarse and savory with a hint of sourness - this fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and have never had any problem with it rising or anything. I follow the recipe exactly and have never had any problems that other reviewers have had. I wonder if it varies depending on the cornmeal? It is a great basic cornbread recipe. I like to add some peppers and cheese to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef William
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was really bad and I was trying to make real Southern corn bread for my husband who's from Kentucky. It was really dense & a strange consistency in the middle. The only good part was the buttery crust. I do NOT recommend this recipe. I actually have a great recipe for non-sweet corn bread but this is too dense in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this recipe because it seemed so simple. Apparently too simple. I made my own buttermilk and the whole thing came out tasting like vinegar. I even added some sugar before baking because i noticed that it seemed too bitter. also there's nothing to make it rise. I won't be able to serve this for dinner tonight. wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I had some buttermilk that I needed to use up so I make this recipe. I served it with chili and it was really good. Strangely enough, the taste of this cornbread seemed very familiar to me, so someone from my childhood must have made their cornbread the same way. I’m also looking forward to taking this basic recipe and playing with it a little. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I thought something was missing. Baking powder or something to make it rise a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was bad. I will be removing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRY209

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States