Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is not a bread and does not turn out like the fluffy cornbread in the photo. I thought it was strange that no baking powder or baking soda was needed, and sure enough, the thing did not rise at all. I got a very dense, dry, tough slab of packed cornmeal that should be soaked and dissolved in something else to make it eat-able. I don't know what to do with it now! Next time I'll stick with the recipes that have baking powder/soda in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
As long as I can remember, 50+ years, the women and men in my family have used this recipe. My husband likes olive oil. You can use it instead of the oil and butter. Works just the same. By the way, if you heat the skillet on the stove top you can sprinkle in some extra cornmeal, wait until it starts to get dark brown, then pour in the batter. The hotter the skillet the darker the crust!!! Gives that glass of sweet milk and cornbread just a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenbank, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was really dense. The flavor was okay though. I'll probably try a recipe with flour next time because I would have liked something that's fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
okay, better with honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is classic southern cornbread and if that is what you are looking for then this is it. Great recipe to make the cornnbread for dressing. But if you are eating it at the table, it does need salt. And you can add a few more flavor enhancers like corn or peppers. But don't use flour, sugar, or baking powder, just get another recipe for that type of cornbread. Also, I used crisco instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a complete disappointment. It was dry, bland (I even added honey & kosher salt), thick, dense, and tasteless. There was no rise to it, and no crumble. Leaving this one off the "make again" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This recipe needs to be revised to correct which ingredient amount is wrong. The cornbread batter was extremely thick, and the cornbread didn't raise and was tasteless and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Finally! A real cornbread recipe WITHOUT SUGAR!~! GREAT! Tastes like the old Texas cornbread my mother and grandmother made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I'm not from the south so maybe I'm missing something. I was trying to avoid sugary corn bread but I think this went too far the other way. It was flat, dense, bland and mealy. Maybe it's supposed to be that way but it wasn't to our taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very dense and bland flavor. The kids and husband said it was okay but I did not care for it at all. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States