Basic Buttermilk Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
As a recommendation,I think the writer meant to say to use "self rising cornmeal". Otherwise, you will need to add all of the left out ingredients for plain cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
There is something missing from this recipe, like salt and maybe baking soda and/or powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I agree with shuyett, very bland and gritty and I used a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I live in Tennessee and this is the cornbread I grew up on! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Bland. I didn't pay much attention to the fact that there was no salt or baking powder when I decided to make this recipe (I was just quickly searching for an easy cornbread recipe for dinner--and most of the dinner was already ready, so I was kind of in a hurry). I did stray from the recipe in that I did not do the butter in the skillet thing...I greased an 8x8 pan instead. Turned out pretty dense and flat with not much flavor. I also used instant buttermilk, which might have made a difference in flavor as well (but hasn't in other recipes). So, take it for what it's worth. Probably a good recipe if you follow it exactly and don't care that it isn't salty at all. I think I'm tainted by the deliciousness of Famous Dave's cornbread muffins (which are probably full of sugar and lard, for one thing...). I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I think you got cornmeal mixed up with cornbread mix. I usually add a bit of salt, a bit of baking powder and a bit of flour to mine. I wanted to try a recipe with buttermilk because I usually use sweet milk and I am sorry that this is the one I tried. It was horrible. Sorry :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is an excellent corn bread recipe! It is classic southern style and very easy to make. The only change I made was to add in a dash of salt. I will definitely be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banduras

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
When I followed this recipe, my bread turned out really flat and dense. I didn't have a cast-iron skillet, so I used a regular round cake pan instead (I put it in the oven while it was preheating). I wonder if the bread didn't rise because a bread pan won't heat up as high as a cast-iron skillet. I've seen a friend make corn bread with a cast-iron skillet and it worked like a charm (it seemed to rise right after she poured in the batter and before she returned it to the oven). Has anyone gotten the flat, dense results even though they used the cast-iron skillet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The ingedient list is similar to my moms recipe, but mine didn't turn out, it was totally flat, maybe my pan was too big. What size skillet do you use for this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States